Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: galadgawyn on October 02, 2010, 01:53:29 PM
-
1. If you have multiple placed enhancemnents on your hero, how do they resolve?
Do they all go off at once, in some order, using some order of operations, etc?
1b Do they all activate at once and are resolved one at a time or do they activate and carry out one at a time?
2. What happens when an opponent uses my hero with placed enhancements? Do they use them as if they were theirs (like the abilities on the hero they are banding to)? Do you still get to use them?
I heard that they would still activate for you unless Sent to Serve was used to place in which case the opponent would use them. That doesn't sound right to me but any definitive answer would be good.
P.S. are we ever going to get evil placers?
-
1) if i remember correctly it is the order of not of cards but of Special Abilities that would this follow
-
1) If my heroes has like multiple placed cards, however is being discarded, I'll read one place card at a time and do it's effect, yes, it happen at the same time, but you don't have like multiple eyes to read all effect and do what it does.
2) If your opponent is using your hero to do something, remember that hero is yours, therefore anything happen to that hero would effect you as well.
Thank you.
-
I would rule that they would go off in the order they were placed, except for banding/CtB abilities, which would go to the end. I'm still not entirely sure where placed enhancements go in the order of abilities though, so I don't know how they compare to other gained abilities, weapons, or Hero SA's. It's written somewhere though.
I know it was recently said that your opponent doesn't get to use the enhancement if it was theirs in all cases except for possibly Sent to Serve. I was never too clear on the reasons though. SirNobody made the ruling, so perhaps he can expound on it a bit.
For reference:
Sent to Serve
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: Place a good enhancement from hand on a human Hero of matching brigade in your territory. When that Hero enters battle, activate that enhancement as a regular enhancement. Discard it after that battle. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Hebrews 1:14 • Availability: Angel Wars booster packs (Common)
Other placed cards:
Agur (Pi)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: 8 / 9 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may place an O.T. Enhancement from hand (or discard pile if Book of the Law is active) on a human Hero of matching brigade in your territory. The next time that Hero enters battle, that Enhancement activates and is discarded immediately.
Elishama the Priest (Pi)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Teal • Ability: 6 / 6 • Class: None • Special Ability: If Jehoshaphat is in play, you may place an O.T. Enhancement from hand or discard pile on a human Hero of matching brigade in your territory. The next time that Hero enters battle, that Enhancement activates and is discarded immediately.
Jahaziel, son of Zechariah (Pi)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Red • Ability: 9 / 10 • Class: None • Special Ability: If you have a Hero in a set-aside area, you may place an O.T. Enhancement of matching brigade from hand or discard pile on that Hero. The next time that Hero enters battle, that Enhancement activates and is discarded immediately.
Jehoram the Priest (Pi)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Teal • Ability: 2 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: If Book of the Law is active, you may place an O.T. Enhancement from hand or discard pile on a human Hero of matching brigade in your territory. The next time that Hero enters battle, that Enhancement activates and is discarded immediately.
Tithe (Pi)
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Green • Ability: 1 / 10 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may place an Enhancement from hand on a Hero of matching brigade in your territory. The next time that Hero enters battle, that Enhancement activates and holder may draw a card.
-
Cards like SitC, Pagan Sacrifices, A-Bomb require your opponent to play accordingly. The card is still read from the owners perspective.
Cards placed by these methods are still read from the owners perspective:
Agur (Pi)
Elishama the Priest (Pi)
Jahaziel, son of Zechariah (Pi)
Jehoram the Priest (Pi)
Tithe (Pi)
Its your card activating- no matter the location. You still carry out the ability- even if your opponent has control of the hero when the enhancement activates. At least thats what I can figure from Sir Nobody's post.
Question time:
Abraham's Descendant (Di)
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Blue • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: Territory • Special Ability: Interrupt a Curse or evil Enhancement in play and add it to your hand. Search each discard pile for a good Enhancement and place them beneath owners' decks. • Identifiers: OT, Based on Prophecy • Verse: Genesis 12:3 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()
If I take your enhancement from your storehouse with this card and play it. Who carries out the ability of the played stolen enhancement? Same with Taking Egypts Wealth?
Another question:
Because of poor wording on the card, does this card recieve special treatment? Is it truly played as a regular enhancement?
Sent to Serve
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: Place a good enhancement from hand on a human Hero of matching brigade in your territory. When that Hero enters battle, activate that enhancement as a regular enhancement. Discard it after that battle. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Hebrews 1:14 • Availability: Angel Wars booster packs (Common)
-
And why doesn't Sent to Serve have either a Play-As or errata?
-
I'm still not entirely sure where placed enhancements go in the order of abilities though, so I don't know how they compare to other gained abilities, weapons, or Hero SA's.
Last I heard it was ruled that the placed enhancement gets used when triggered and since that trigger is the hero entering battle, then it happens after all hero abilities (even ctb).
Cards like SitC, Pagan Sacrifices, A-Bomb require your opponent to play accordingly. The card is still read from the owners perspective.
Cards placed by these methods are still read from the owners perspective:
Its your card activating- no matter the location. You still carry out the ability- even if your opponent has control of the hero when the enhancement activates. At least thats what I can figure from Sir Nobody's post.
I'm not sure why they are treated the same way. It seems SitC, etc. activate when you play them and they set up a trigger for when you carry out the ability. However Agur, etc. set up a trigger for when the enhancement activates. Wouldn't the basic requirement to activate enhancements on characters of matching brigade still apply (like High Places)? If the opponent is banding to your hero, I don't see how you could use the enhancement since it is not your hero at that time to meet the brigade requirement. If it does activate, it would activate on a hero they are using which makes me think they would use it like the hero's ability that they banded to.
-
Maybe its a matter of abuse. Specifically giving an opponent a hero loaded with ANB and you have thorns LS with Nazareth and Rain Becomes Dust or anti-draw ls. :-X
-
Maybe its a matter of abuse. Specifically giving an opponent a hero loaded with ANB and you have thorns LS with Nazareth and Rain Becomes Dust or anti-draw ls. :-X
Talk about a plank in your eye... :-[
-
hey, at least they get to attack again...
-
hey, at least they get to attack again...
Okay, so it's just a shim in your eye, but still.
-
Still hoping for clear answers on these. Does someone know or is there discussion on it?