Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: browarod on April 06, 2011, 06:20:35 PM

Title: Place Question
Post by: browarod on April 06, 2011, 06:20:35 PM
Can you place a card on a fortress/hero/whatever if the card is already placed there?

I.E.: what is the definition of "place"? Is there a physical "pick up the card and put it down on something" component, or is it just words?

Gameplay example: I use Tithe to place Lay Down Your Life on a NT Hero. That hero later enters battle and LDYL activates. Must I choose a different hero to lace LDYL on, or can I "place" it on the hero it's already placed on?
Title: Re: Place Question
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on April 06, 2011, 06:22:56 PM
Can you place a card on a fortress/hero/whatever if the card is already placed there?

I.E.: what is the definition of "place"? Is there a physical "pick up the card and put it down on something" component, or is it just words?

I've wondered that too, good question
Title: Re: Place Question
Post by: SomeKittens on April 06, 2011, 06:34:31 PM
Can you give a gameplay example?
Title: Re: Place Question
Post by: browarod on April 06, 2011, 06:36:49 PM
Can you give a gameplay example?
Added an example to the first post.
Title: Re: Place Question
Post by: SomeKittens on April 06, 2011, 06:38:05 PM
I'd say you could totally place it again.  I see no reason that you couldn't.
Title: Re: Place Question
Post by: browarod on April 06, 2011, 06:41:58 PM
That's why I was asking if there was a physical movement of the card involved or if "place" is just text with no physical action (necessarily) required. If a physical movement is required then you'd have to choose a different hero to place it on.

Also, I had entertained the thought that perhaps "place(d)" is an action AND a condition. The place ability puts a card on a specific target and gives it the "placed" condition. If this is the case, you wouldn't be able to place a card on a card it was already placed on since you'd be meeting the condition but not the action.

Am I over-thinking this?
Title: Re: Place Question
Post by: SomeKittens on April 06, 2011, 06:45:21 PM
Ah.  I don't think "place" indicates physical movement.

Place
When a special ability instructs a player to place a card on a second card, the placed card remains with the second card until the second card is discarded, returned to the draw pile or hand, or until the placed card is removed by a special ability.
Title: Re: Place Question
Post by: browarod on April 06, 2011, 06:51:14 PM
I was hoping to keep this a secret uber combo, but I think I should mention it as my true reason for asking this question.

Chamber of Angels with 1+ angels in it -> I use Darius' Decree to discard all heroes in set aside -> If the angels are already placed on Chamber, can Chamber "re-place" them since they're being discarded by DD? I'm fairly certain the current ruling is that they would stay on Chamber (though I believe their progress towards 2 turns would be reset), but I don't believe you should be able to place something if it's already placed there (i.e.: if you discard an angel from Chamber, it should actually discard that time) so that's why I'm wondering what the definition of "place" is.

Maybe I'm just biased against angels, idk, lol.
Title: Re: Place Question
Post by: SomeKittens on April 06, 2011, 06:54:12 PM
I don't think DD would be able to discard angels in Chamber.  The only reason for that happening would be that Chamber can't target set-aside areas.
Title: Re: Place Question
Post by: browarod on April 06, 2011, 06:56:17 PM
I don't think DD would be able to discard angels in Chamber.  The only reason for that happening would be that Chamber can't target set-aside areas.
Chamber doesn't target anything, it just modifies a game rule (according to Bryon and Prof Alstad). I just don't see how it can send them to itself when they're already there.
Title: Re: Place Question
Post by: SomeKittens on April 06, 2011, 08:01:13 PM
That's exactly why I think they'd stay in Chamber (but be reset)
Title: Re: Place Question
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on April 06, 2011, 08:27:00 PM
That's exactly why I think they'd stay in Chamber (but be reset)

+1 that's correct
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal