Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DrowningFish on April 05, 2014, 12:43:11 PM
-
if I decide to block with Philistine armor bearer and he has any black brigade weapon class enhancment on him( in this case Goliaths Armor) and exchange it for the Gold brigade Lahmi will the enhancements stay on him Even though the weapon is a different brigade?
-
Philistine armor bearer you May exchange this card with an evil Philistine in your deck or discard pile. Evil enhancements remain in battle. Cannot be negated.
-
The weapon would remain until end of battle if you switched with a black evil character.
-
The weapon would remain until end of battle if you switched with a black evil character.
I understand. The Old Lahmi from Kings Is gold brigade
-
The weapon would remain but would not count until you added a black brigade character to battle.
-
By "count" do you mean activate?
-
I believe Praeceps is incorrect. If at any time an enhancement doesn't have a matching character in battle (not counting placed enhancements) it is immediately discarded. So if the Philistine you exchanged for was not black then the weapon would go to the discard pile immediately following the exchange.
-
But wouldn't that be the point of PAB? Enhancements stay in battle?
-
But wouldn't that be the point of PAB? Enhancements stay in battle?
Only if they're black. Armor Bearer doesn't allow the use of enhancements of other brigades, he just lets you swap for a Philistine that would be better in the current situation.
-
I hadn't realized that cross-brigade enhancements were discarded immediately. I thought they just hung out in battle waiting for a character who could use them before they counted towards the battle.
-
I hadn't realized that cross-brigade enhancements were discarded immediately. I thought they just hung out in battle waiting for a character who could use them before they counted towards the battle.
If Praeceps is correct it wouldn't be that much of a jig deal. He bands to another giant. So then the enhancements would then activate( providing you have another giant)
-
The idea of unusable enhancements in battle has been brought up before (i.e. for Grapes of Wrath), and the ruling has always been as browarod stated. If there are no characters of matching brigade, then the enhancement is discarded immediately.
PAB's ability is unusual, and is obviously clarifying text. However, lately "clarifying text" is being disregarded and we have switched to more literal interpretations of cards. If we are going to go there at all, then we need to go there consistently, therefore I would agree that any evil enhancements played before PAB would have to remain in battle, even if there are no matching characters to use them on.
-
Or you could just use Ashdod. 8)
-
Yes but relyIng on that isn't as sure fire as iff I throw in some gold brigade enhancements