Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: juhnkect on June 10, 2009, 03:42:17 PM

Title: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: juhnkect on June 10, 2009, 03:42:17 PM
Okay, so Im pretty sure a card played in one phase can't negate a completed action in a previous phase. correct? I just can't find the ruling for it.
 
For example. I used captured ark (by default it has to be used in my prep phase) and during the battle phase (both characters were presented in battle) my opponent tries to DoN my Captured ark to get his Art back. faulty play, correct?

Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: Captain Kirk on June 10, 2009, 03:42:52 PM
That would be correct.

Kirk
Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: BubbleBoy on June 10, 2009, 03:51:04 PM
I have a question: Can you DoN Captured Ark the second time it is being used?
Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: TimMierz on June 10, 2009, 03:53:49 PM
To the first question:
REG > Interrupt or Negate Last > Special Conditions:
"Negating an artifact during battle does not go back and replay the whole turn as if the artifact was not there; it only negates the special ability of the artifact from the current phase forward."

To the second question:
No, because... same page:
"Exhausted artifacts (and covenant cards or curse cards used as artifacts) that must be discarded after use are discarded immediately after use."
Artifact negaters only target artifacts in play. Discarded artifacts are no longer in play.
Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: juhnkect on June 10, 2009, 04:00:00 PM
Thanks for the quick responses, fellas
Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: robm on June 10, 2009, 11:19:06 PM
But cards like Lying unto God(Evil enhancment)2/3 Negate and Discard an active artifact.

Can be negated and the artifact returned to play correct???
Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: TimMierz on June 10, 2009, 11:21:23 PM
A discarded artifact is no longer active.
Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: robm on June 10, 2009, 11:23:24 PM
But what if my opponent plays Sign of the Rainbow- Negate and discard the last evil enhancment in battle.  Would his temple vail artifact then return to play active???
Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: RedemptionAggie on June 10, 2009, 11:26:50 PM
You can negate Lying unto God (and similar cards) to get the Artifact back in play active.

But you can't use Lying unto God on an already discarded art, like on the second use of Captured Ark.
Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: robm on June 10, 2009, 11:33:00 PM
Why not?

It does not say that it cannot be negated?

What else would Negate enhancement be good for?


BTW I was using Lying unto God to discard Holy of Holies so my FTB deck could work.

Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: RedemptionAggie on June 10, 2009, 11:35:27 PM
Lying unto God has to used on an active art.  Any artifact in the discard pile is no longer active.  (And that second sentence was about LuG in general, not negating it).

All copies of HoH have the same errata, so none of them can be negated during the battle phase.
Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: robm on June 10, 2009, 11:45:48 PM
Battle Situation:

Opponent goes into battle with 10/10 Blue Hero.  Holy of Holies is active and preventing my FTN evil charcters from coming into battle to negate heroes abilities.
I enter battle with Malacus 2/4 Black evil Character.

I have initive and play Lying unto God to discard his active Holy of Holies.

He play Sign of the rainbow and negates lying unto God.

Holy of Holies returns to play.  (Correct???)
My EC loses.
Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: RedemptionAggie on June 10, 2009, 11:49:11 PM
Bad example, since your opponent never gets initiative with just Malchus + LuG (only 4/7).  IF initiative is transferred after LuG is played, it can be negated, which would return HoH to play.
Title: Re: Phases...Negation... whaa??
Post by: robm on June 10, 2009, 11:51:22 PM
That is what I thought.

Thanks.

Sorry I should have made the hero smaller but I could not remember the particular example from our game play.

SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal