Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Captain Falcon on May 27, 2010, 11:01:39 PM

Title: Peace treaty
Post by: Captain Falcon on May 27, 2010, 11:01:39 PM
If I attack with Cherubim banded to ET, can I play peace treaty? I would think so, as there is an OT hero in battle as well as a purple hero to play it on.

Ethiopian Treasurer
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 5 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Search own draw pile or discard pile for one Bible icon with no special abilities. Holder may play the next enhancement card. • Play As: Holder must search own draw pile or discard pile for one Bible icon with no special abilities and put it in hand. Holder may play the next enhancement card.

Cherubim
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 5 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: May band to any Purple Brigade Hero. • Identifiers: Generic OT Male Angel

Peace Treaty
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 1 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: O.T. Hero ignores one evil brigade except orange, or may band to a human Hero.
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 27, 2010, 11:07:14 PM
I'm pretty sure this question has been answered "yes" before, but looking again, I'm not sure whether the wording "hero" on Peace Treaty (as opposed to "a hero") allows for transferring users...
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: adotson85 on May 27, 2010, 11:11:02 PM
Yes you can play it. Just like you can play gathering on a hero who isn't silver as long as you have a silver hero in play.
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: Gabe on May 27, 2010, 11:15:55 PM
I'm pretty sure this works.  I've seen some T2 decks based around that combo.
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on May 27, 2010, 11:17:25 PM
I'm 99% sure it works too. I'm about 1000% less official than Gabe, but I think that should seal it pretty well :)
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 27, 2010, 11:23:16 PM
I'm 99% sure it works too. I'm about 1000% less official than Gabe, but I think that should seal it pretty well :)
I don't know. That 1% of 1/1000% is looking pretty dangerous. ;)
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: Professoralstad on May 28, 2010, 02:15:18 AM
I thought there was something where if a card said a card type (i.e. O.T. Hero) without an article or specifying adjective (an O.T. Hero, one O.T Hero, your O.T. Hero, etc.) then it was automatically applied to the Hero who used the card (I think this was discussed with Provisions, and how it's use of "Hero" could only be applied to the set-aside Hero). In that case, I think Peace Treaty can only apply to the Hero who played it, who is in fact ET, who is in fact NT, and thus it doesn't work at all.


Provisions

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Green • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set Hero aside for 2 turns. On return, holder may draw 2 cards and may choose the Evil Character his opponent's uses to block Hero's next rescue attempt. • Errata: Set Hero aside for 2 turns. On return, holder may draw 2 cards, and hero gains the special ability (for hero’s next rescue attempt only) “Holder may choose the Evil Character opponent uses to block.”
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: disciple_drew on May 28, 2010, 06:26:01 AM
I thought there was something where if a card said a card type (i.e. O.T. Hero) without an article or specifying adjective (an O.T. Hero, one O.T Hero, your O.T. Hero, etc.) then it was automatically applied to the Hero who used the card (I think this was discussed with Provisions, and how it's use of "Hero" could only be applied to the set-aside Hero). In that case, I think Peace Treaty can only apply to the Hero who played it, who is in fact ET, who is in fact NT, and thus it doesn't work at all.


Provisions

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Green • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set Hero aside for 2 turns. On return, holder may draw 2 cards and may choose the Evil Character his opponent's uses to block Hero's next rescue attempt. • Errata: Set Hero aside for 2 turns. On return, holder may draw 2 cards, and hero gains the special ability (for hero’s next rescue attempt only) “Holder may choose the Evil Character opponent uses to block.”

 +1
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 28, 2010, 07:53:36 AM
I thought there was something where if a card said a card type (i.e. O.T. Hero) without an article or specifying adjective (an O.T. Hero, one O.T Hero, your O.T. Hero, etc.) then it was automatically applied to the Hero who used the card (I think this was discussed with Provisions, and how it's use of "Hero" could only be applied to the set-aside Hero). In that case, I think Peace Treaty can only apply to the Hero who played it, who is in fact ET, who is in fact NT, and thus it doesn't work at all.
That's basically what I said and no one listened to me. :-\
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: Professoralstad on May 28, 2010, 10:47:16 AM
Well, would you rather listen to a Professor or to someone named BubbleBoy?
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: Prof Underwood on May 28, 2010, 10:58:11 AM
Well, would you rather listen to a Professor or to someone named BubbleBoy?
If it didn't sound so self-serving, that would've made it :)
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 28, 2010, 11:10:42 AM
Well, would you rather listen to a Professor or to someone named BubbleBoy?
Well, how good a professor can you be if you can't even capitalize your name as well as someone named BubbleBoy? :)
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on May 28, 2010, 01:33:35 PM
Wait so this doesn't work?
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 28, 2010, 01:37:04 PM
Wait so this doesn't work?
So far the vote is split, and between almost all unofficial people at that, which is about as close to meaning absolutely nothing as you can get. :P
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: adotson85 on May 28, 2010, 01:44:18 PM
As of now I would say that it works because Gabe is the most official person who has commented on it and he thinks it works.
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: Prof Underwood on May 28, 2010, 02:12:59 PM
As of now I would say that it works because Gabe is the most official person who has commented on it and he thinks it works.
Gabe actually IS official, however he only said he was "pretty sure".  So I don't think that sounds like an "official" answer from him.

Prof A, can you point us to where you saw this ruled that it didn't work (ie. another thread, REG, etc.)?
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: Bryon on May 28, 2010, 02:38:47 PM
It works




... I'm pretty sure.  :)

I think that "hero" without an article is restricted to the hero itself only on character abilities.  I'm not certain that the restriction applies to enhancements played on those characters.  But I could be wrong.
Title: Re: Peace treaty
Post by: adotson85 on May 28, 2010, 02:42:21 PM

... I'm pretty sure.  :)


Lol.. you would
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal