Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Irish_Luck on April 29, 2011, 12:05:55 AM
-
If Paul is set aside does he return as Saul since he reenters play?
Saul (Ap)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 11 / 10 • Class: None • Special Ability: This card enters play as Saul. When Saul repents he becomes Paul. • Errata: (Treat special ability as an identifier.) • Play As: This card enters play as Saul. When Saul is converted by any means he becomes Paul (at face value). • Identifiers: NT Male Human, Pharisee (Rome), Prophet, This card enters play as Saul. When Saul repents he becomes Paul. • Verse: Acts 8:3 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Ultra Rare)
-
No,
A converted character is converted for the rest of the game
-
What he means is, characters only reset in deck, hand, or discard pile, not from being set aside.
-
If Paul is set aside does he return as Saul since he reenters play?
Saul (Ap)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 11 / 10 • Class: None • Special Ability: This card enters play as Saul. When Saul repents he becomes Paul. • Errata: (Treat special ability as an identifier.) • Play As: This card enters play as Saul. When Saul is converted by any means he becomes Paul (at face value). • Identifiers: NT Male Human, Pharisee (Rome), Prophet, This card enters play as Saul. When Saul repents he becomes Paul. • Verse: Acts 8:3 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Ultra Rare)
This was the part that threw me off. I know that normally cards stay converted until they either hit the deck or another card causes to. I just thought that since he reenters play his special ability would turn him back into Saul.
-
It looks like he'd reenter as Saul. While Polaris is right in general, Saul specifically says otherwise.
-
It looks like he'd reenter as Saul. While Polaris is right in general, Saul specifically says otherwise.
It's clarifying text
-
It looks like he'd reenter as Saul. While Polaris is right in general, Saul specifically says otherwise.
It's clarifying text
The errata says it is an identifier, not an ability, so it can not be clarifying text. However, it is the identifier for the card called Saul (notice the quoted card title). Once Saul becomes Paul, you read the Paul REG entry (which does not have that identifier):
Paul (Ap)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: 10 / 10 • Class: None • Special Ability: May not be poisoned. All enhancements played on Paul may not be interrupted, negated or prevented. • Play As: Protect Paul from poison abilities. All enhancements played on Paul cannot be negated. • Identifiers: NT Male Human, Pharisee (Rome), Prophet •