Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: emonier on May 20, 2018, 10:25:17 PM
-
Peter (EC) has two components:
(1) Once per round you may heal another clay hero. If Peter is captured, search deck for an Acts angel.
(2) Good Acts enhancements played on Peter cannot be negated.
So, from previous discussions, I would assume that Part (1) is the special ability and Part (2) is the modifier, correct?
Then, it would follow that Part (1) CAN BE NEGATED; whereas Part (2) CANNOT BE NEGATED.
Is this correct?
(*NOTE: This was an issue in a tournament I played in on Saturday. The person I was facing said that he was told that Peter (EC) cannot be negated (in any way); but I argued that part 1 can be and part 2 cannot be.)
Why would the presence of the Part (2) modifier make the entire ability CBN? That would not make sense at all.
Thank you
-
You are correct. Unless Joy is placed on Peter to make him CBN his heal can be negated.
-
The healing ability can be negated but the second part cannot be negated since it’s a modifier. They are two separate abilities. If the entire ability was CBN it would be it’s own sentence at the end of the ability, or something like “Peter and acts enhs played on Peter CBN.”
-
The special ability is the entirety of the text above the verse (or on the picture), so the modifier is still part of the special ability. Otherwise something like Warriors Michael doesn't have a special ability.
Peter's special ability consists of 2 abilities (a heal and a search) and a modifier (Acts Enhancements he uses are CBN).