Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: adotson85 on February 23, 2012, 12:24:16 AM

Title: Order of Operations
Post by: adotson85 on February 23, 2012, 12:24:16 AM
My opponent plays first fruits on the previous turn. After drawing 3 on his following turn, first fruit's set aside requirement is met during the upkeep phase. Is my opponent allowed to place cards in territory before discarding and drawing?

First Fruits (Pi)
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Teal/White • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set aside all of your human Heroes for one turn. On return, discard a good card from hand to draw four cards.
Title: Re: Order of Operations
Post by: lp670sv on February 23, 2012, 12:30:42 AM
No I still make that mistake a lot but no it's not really allowed

I'm wrong apparently  8)
Title: Re: Order of Operations
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 23, 2012, 12:31:27 AM
It is, actually. Set-asides resolve during prep phase. You can choose to do that after things like playing cards, activating Arts, etc.
Title: Re: Order of Operations
Post by: Chronic Apathy on February 23, 2012, 12:35:56 AM
No I still make that mistake a lot but no it's not really allowed

Quote
A set-aside ability with a specified duration returns the card(s) it set aside when the duration is reached. If it is a turn-based duration, return the card(s) set aside during your preparation phase.

From the REG.
Title: Re: Order of Operations
Post by: Wings of Music on February 23, 2012, 12:40:40 AM
It is, actually. Set-asides resolve during prep phase. You can choose to do that after things like playing cards, activating Arts, etc.

This is how I've always seen it played
Title: Re: Order of Operations
Post by: SomeKittens on February 23, 2012, 12:57:44 PM
Well, I'm flabbergasted.  I never realized that was how it worked....
Title: Re: Order of Operations
Post by: browarod on February 23, 2012, 12:59:39 PM
Activating Gifts and then bringing Feast of Trumpets back is a sweet combo without having to risk your Gifts being active for a whole round.
Title: Re: Order of Operations
Post by: Chronic Apathy on February 23, 2012, 02:03:59 PM
It helps keep Mayhem from being too powerful mid-game, since it gives me the opportunity to keep hand size down before I start drawing again from set-aside enhancements.
Title: Re: Order of Operations
Post by: NVevan on February 27, 2012, 12:24:05 PM
So the characters that were set aside are returned to territory during prep-phase, but we can activate artifacts and place down characters and sites before using the ability of the set-aside enhancement?
Title: Re: Order of Operations
Post by: Professoralstad on February 27, 2012, 01:13:22 PM
So the characters that were set aside are returned to territory during prep-phase, but we can activate artifacts and place down characters and sites before using the ability of the set-aside enhancement?

Yes.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal