Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Mr.Hiatus on July 16, 2009, 02:19:13 PM

Title: Official Ruling on this please
Post by: Mr.Hiatus on July 16, 2009, 02:19:13 PM
I asked a few people and I got mixed answers. If a character is sent to my deck or hand are they reset? I always thought they were, and once they do reset doesn't that mean  they can re-enter battle? If not please post your evidence in the REG beucase I see nothing saying it can not do it.
Title: Re: Official Ruling on this please
Post by: The Guardian on July 16, 2009, 02:22:31 PM
Reseting a unique character (which happens when it is sent to hand/deck/discard pile) does not mean that the character was not previously in the battle. The only way to put the same character in battle a second time is if the means by which it was brought in the first time is negated, because then--according to the definition of negate--it was never in battle to begin with.
Title: Re: Official Ruling on this please
Post by: BubbleBoy on July 16, 2009, 02:23:52 PM
The rule on entering battle is a rule for the battle rather than a rule for the character in it, which means that the character resetting would be irrelevant to his ability to re-enter battle.
Title: Re: Official Ruling on this please
Post by: Korunks on July 16, 2009, 02:26:22 PM
So Basically its not the character that "remembers" being battle, it's the battle "remembers" the character, right?
Title: Re: Official Ruling on this please
Post by: The Guardian on July 16, 2009, 02:37:50 PM
In a sense, yes.  :)
Title: Re: Official Ruling on this please
Post by: Minister Polarius on July 17, 2009, 07:18:15 PM
How does this jive with the HT/Rescuers Choice ruling?
Title: Re: Official Ruling on this please
Post by: Kevin Shride on July 18, 2009, 07:28:03 AM
I don't get the question.  Please elaborate.

Kevin Shride
Title: Re: Official Ruling on this please
Post by: Minister Polarius on July 18, 2009, 04:46:00 PM
It's been ruled that in rescuer's choice situations, if a Lost Soul is shuffled and brought back out with Harvest Time, it has reset and is not the "same" Lost Soul anymore. Based on this, I would assume that in a T1 game I could pull a shuffled generic character with UN because it has reset and is not the "same" Evil Character anymore. But apparently that's not the case?
Title: Re: Official Ruling on this please
Post by: sk on July 18, 2009, 04:55:14 PM
Another thread floating around (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=16657.0) was questioning if generic characters could return, and at least some thought that they could.  Thus why Justin specified "unique".
Title: Re: Official Ruling on this please
Post by: robm on July 18, 2009, 05:07:04 PM
I don't see why they couldn't re-enter battle through a banding card or something like that. But it would depend on what the card says that sent the hero back to hand, deck , etc.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal