Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Rawrlolsauce! on July 06, 2010, 04:52:39 AM

Title: Non-Dom Slapjack?
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on July 06, 2010, 04:52:39 AM
I have Philly Outpost out. My opponent has Holy Grail. I use Outpost's special ability. Can I block before I'm converted?
Title: Re: Non-Dom Slapjack?
Post by: adotson85 on July 06, 2010, 06:15:35 AM
I would rule that your opponent would be allowed to convert your EC before you can block.
Title: Re: Non-Dom Slapjack?
Post by: Prof Underwood on July 06, 2010, 09:04:18 AM
+1
Title: Re: Non-Dom Slapjack?
Post by: uthminister [BR] on July 06, 2010, 09:15:29 AM
Can we get an explanation on that one please...
Title: Re: Non-Dom Slapjack?
Post by: Prof Underwood on July 06, 2010, 09:25:59 AM
Can we get an explanation on that one please...
The basic idea is that in most cases, I rule in favor of letting people actually use their cards.  If you want to put someone straight into battle, then keep them in your hand.  If you choose to put them down (so you can put a WC-enh on them) or if you have to put them down (because of a fortress like PO), then they become temporarily vulnerable before you can push them into battle.  If your opponent has an artifact that they want to use during that time, then they should have a chance to use it.

The exception to this is playing dominants.  Because dominants are so powerful that they have an almost "play anytime" quality to them, then a person could play a dominant in response to their own action before an opponent would have a chance to play one of their cards.  But since the situation above does not include dominants, this exception is not relevant.
Title: Re: Non-Dom Slapjack?
Post by: BubbleBoy on July 06, 2010, 09:53:34 AM
So, if you used PO, you could DoN HG before they use it (which I suppose only matters if it's the second use for HG), but you can't block with the EC before they use it?
Title: Re: Non-Dom Slapjack?
Post by: Master KChief on July 06, 2010, 09:59:02 AM
right. because hg and don are trying to activate at the same time, priority goes to the player that performed the last action. in that case, the po player may don hg before it is used.

if you search for a philly with po, you can not respond to the search by pushing it immediately into battle before an opponent has the chance to use a dominant or artifact ability, since that action is not a dominant or optional use artifact ability.
Title: Re: Non-Dom Slapjack?
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on July 06, 2010, 12:38:15 PM
I thought that you couldn't use HG during battle phase anyways...There was a post about that with W@tW doing the same thing and it didn't work
Title: Re: Non-Dom Slapjack?
Post by: Alex_Olijar on July 06, 2010, 12:48:15 PM
Only on an evil character in battle
Title: Re: Non-Dom Slapjack?
Post by: Professoralstad on July 06, 2010, 01:06:05 PM
I thought that you couldn't use HG during battle phase anyways...There was a post about that with W@tW doing the same thing and it didn't work

Holy Grail can be used at any time on any targetable EC in a territory. The W@tW trick (where you search for the EC and use Grail on it right away) is legal.
Title: Re: Non-Dom Slapjack?
Post by: TheHobbit13 on July 06, 2010, 01:40:27 PM
I thought that you couldn't use HG during battle phase anyways...There was a post about that with W@tW doing the same thing and it didn't work

Holy Grail can be used at any time on any targetable EC in a territory. The W@tW trick (where you search for the EC and use Grail on it right away) is legal.

Another nice combo is habbakuk to get around a protect fort and then converting a EC.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal