Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on May 08, 2017, 10:40:15 PM
-
Could someone please explain how this card works. I'm a bit confused in how it plays out.
-
You get to convert your opponents hero to a Brigade that you play with and bring it to your territory as your hero now.
-
I wish the wording on that card was as simple and straightforward as how you wrote it, Jeremy! :P
-
It doesn't convert. After you place the Nicolaitans' Teaching, while it remains, you control that Hero and that Hero can use Enhancements of the selected brigade as well as whatever color(s) the Hero is.
-
It doesn't convert. After you place the Nicolaitans' Teaching, while it remains, you control that Hero and that Hero can use Enhancements of the selected brigade as well as whatever color(s) the Hero is.
+1
-
So that's the confusing part to me. Is this something where you can select an evil brigade that the hero can now use, or can you only pick a good brigade? Since it doesn't specify good or evil brigade, and since the Nic Teachings is an evil card, I'm assuming you can choose a good or evil brigade. And thanks for clarifying about the hero not converting as this also was part of my question on how this card worked (though the card didn't specify "convert" it's ability functioned as a convert ability).
-
The reason I thought it was a convertibility is because it doesn't say it keeps its Brigade. So I thought it only converted to a single Brigade in the color of your choice. I guess the word convert was a bad choice of words. But I never thought that you would be able to take an evil character because it states hero all over the card. Thanks for clearing that up guys
-
Heroes can never use evil brigades so you can only chose a good brigade.
-
Heroes can never use evil brigades so you can only chose a good brigade.
+1
"Use another brigade" abilities aren't super common but they have been around a long time. Does anyone remember Coat of Many Colors (Wo)? How about that little 4/4 orange guy from the tins (Deceiving Spirit?) who lets you pick another brigade to use?
Nic's Teaching in part functions like those cards. The Hero gets to use a brigade he could not otherwise use, but he doesn't get that brigade added to him.
-
Ok. I guess the "evil" part of this (this ability comes from an evil enh) is the fact that the hero is being taken by the other player. I was having trouble wrapping my head around how there's anything evil about a hero using another good brigade, which is a benefit to the hero/player.