Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on February 07, 2015, 12:36:50 PM
-
Based on the Nicanor/Mayhem post, I just want to be sure I rule this correctly! Nicanor insteads opponent's draw ability to one, so that means for all draw abilities as well. So we draw 1 instead of 6 for Mayhem, 1 instead of 3 for Reach/Words, 1 instead of 2 for chariots & horses?
-
That's how I understand it at least.
-
Yes, while he is active (you have another Deacon or Widow's Tables), for anything your opponent plays that causes him to draw any amount of cards, the draw does not happen. Instead, Nicanor has each player draw 1 (and he is the source).
If you have an active Nicanor meeting the conditions, then:
- Opponent plays Mayhem, opponent does not draw 6; each player draws 1 instead (so each player that could draw besides the opponent draws 7, opponent who played Mayhem draws 1).
- Opponent uses Reach, opponent does not draw 3; each player draws 1 instead.
- Opponent uses Horses, opponent does not draw 2; each player draws 1 instead.
-
What about if I have Gifts of the Magi is activated and my opponent has Nicanor active? If my opponent draws a card, then I would draw a card from gifts. Nicanor insteads that and we both draw one. Then I draw one from Gifts, because he drew one from Nicanor, but that is insteaded again. So what would happen? Would we both just draw our decks out?
-
What about if I have Gifts of the Magi is activated and my opponent has Nicanor active? If my opponent draws a card, then I would draw a card from gifts. Nicanor insteads that and we both draw one. Then I draw one from Gifts, because he drew one from Nicanor, but that is insteaded again. So what would happen? Would we both just draw our decks out?
The player controlling gifts decides when it ends (since it is optional) or it also ends when the player controlling Gifts hits their max hand size (which is 16, nothing can force a card to your hand when you hit 16).
-
::) right... There's a little thing called a hand limit... doh. That's still an interesting scenario.
-
::) right... There's a little thing called a hand limit... doh. That's still an interesting scenario.
Hand discarding is at the end of your turn.
-
::) right... There's a little thing called a hand limit... doh. That's still an interesting scenario.
Hand discarding is at the end of your turn.
That is not relevant to this situation. You can never have more than 16 cards in your hand at any time.
-
::) right... There's a little thing called a hand limit... doh. That's still an interesting scenario.
Hand discarding is at the end of your turn.
That is not relevant to this situation. You can never have more than 16 cards in your hand at any time.
Ok, but what about 16?
-
::) right... There's a little thing called a hand limit... doh. That's still an interesting scenario.
Hand discarding is at the end of your turn.
That is not relevant to this situation. You can never have more than 16 cards in your hand at any time.
Ok, but what about 16?
16 is not "more than 16," so that would be fine.
-
That is what I thought and why I posted. Thanks.