Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on April 06, 2014, 05:53:42 AM

Title: New SoG and Hoppa
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on April 06, 2014, 05:53:42 AM
Hello all, been gone from the boards for a while and was wondering about a question from a while back.  Can you play your new SoG on a hopper drawn by your opponent outside of draw phase the phase it was drawn? 
Title: Re: New SoG and Hoppa
Post by: Minion of Jesus on April 06, 2014, 08:04:28 AM
Nope, because it is already in your territory before the draw phase is over.
Title: Re: New SoG and Hoppa
Post by: Redoubter on April 06, 2014, 08:36:14 AM
First, clarifying Place abilities are CBN in the phase after they complete.  This is because any instant ability is CBN in the phase after it completes, and Place is instant (and Hopper completes in the phase).

See this thread (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/new-son-of-god-and-the-hopper/) for a discussion of what can happen if you play SoG during the phase in which it is drawn.  The consensus seems to be that you cannot play dominants during the draw phase, but that if it were drawn in a different phase and SoG were played, it would first negate the Hopper and send it to the original Land of Bondage; at that point, if the player using the card would be able to rescue from that LoB (since you cannot rescue from your own), they do so.

I do not see anything wrong with that interpretation.  In fact, you should be able to target your own Lost Souls with SoG and negate them (though not rescue them, since that is against game rule), so as they point out, if your opponent drew Hopper outside of draw phase (such as off of a hero draw) and placed it in your territory, then during that phase you could target it with SoG.  It is now negated, so it returns to the original LoB (where it was placed by game rule before its ability placed it elsewhere).  Now it can be rescued, so SoG rescues it.

In reverse, if you target your own hopper you just placed in an opponent's LoB in the same phase, you negate it, it returns to your LoB, and SoG no longer rescues it.
Title: Re: New SoG and Hoppa
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on April 06, 2014, 02:46:54 PM
could you target one LS for the negate and a different LS for the rescue with the new SoG?
Title: Re: New SoG and Hoppa
Post by: Drrek on April 06, 2014, 02:55:55 PM
could you target one LS for the negate and a different LS for the rescue with the new SoG?

no.
Title: Re: New SoG and Hoppa
Post by: Redoubter on April 06, 2014, 03:51:03 PM
could you target one LS for the negate and a different LS for the rescue with the new SoG?

no.

Agree, because SoG (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Son_of_God_(I)) says "Negate and rescue a Lost Soul."  It must be the same soul, because both components apply to the same target.
Title: Re: New SoG and Hoppa
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 07, 2014, 06:02:12 PM
Can I play SoG at the beginning of the game to target my own hopper(giving me more ls) so that I can go first?
Title: Re: New SoG and Hoppa
Post by: Drrek on April 07, 2014, 06:03:41 PM
Can I play SoG at the beginning of the game to target my own hopper(giving me more ls) so that I can go first?

I'm pretty sure the turn order has to be decided before you can play any non-soul cards.
Title: Re: New SoG and Hoppa
Post by: Redoubter on April 07, 2014, 08:07:16 PM
Can I play SoG at the beginning of the game to target my own hopper(giving me more ls) so that I can go first?

I'm pretty sure the turn order has to be decided before you can play any non-soul cards.

Agreed, dominants cannot be played before the turns actually begin.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal