Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: STAMP on April 02, 2010, 06:32:11 PM

Title: New REG clarification need: Fight Each Other/Side Battles
Post by: STAMP on April 02, 2010, 06:32:11 PM
Quote from: Rulebook in REG
Redemption® Rulebook > Diagram of a Turn > Battle Phase
Side Battles
Certain cards cause two characters to fight each other in what is referred as a side battle. An example is Troops Discharged, a gold brigade evil enhancement that reads, "Select two Evil Characters in play to fight each other." This immediately requires two characters to fight a new battle. The original battle is temporarily suspended until the side battle is completed. The side battle is still part of the same Battle Phase because the main battle has not yet concluded. After the side battle is resolved, all surviving characters return to their previous locations. Non surviving characters and their enhancements are discarded. Surviving characters that return to the main battle bring their enhancements to the main battle. Any ongoing effects of special abilities are applied (e.g., immunity) to the main battle unless that special ability was exhausted in the side battle (e.g., a draw a card). Rules for initiative in the original battle resume. Only one side battle may be initiated by a player each turn.

This is a request that the new REG clarify the last bolded statement based on the answers to the following questions:

1) If I use a lone green prophet and Hidden Treasures to play Sword of the Lord to cause a side battle, may my opponent block with his King Rehoboam after that battle to cause a new side battle?

2) If I use a Provisioned lone green prophet and cause my opponent to block with his King Rehoboam to cause a side battle, may I play Sword of the Lord to cause a new side battle after the other completes?

3) If I use a Provisioned lone green prophet and cause my opponent to block with my King Rehoboam to cause a side battle, may I play Sword of the Lord to cause a new side battle after the other completes (because my opponent is using the King Reho's ability)?

4) If I use a lone green prophet and Hidden Treasures to play Sword of the Lord to cause a side battle between my EC and my opponent's King Rehoboam, may my opponent use King Rehoboam's ability to cause a new side battle?

5) If I use a lone green prophet and Hidden Treasures to play Sword of the Lord to cause a side battle between my EC and my King Rehoboam, giving control of King Rehoboam to my opponent, may my opponent use King Rehoboam's ability to cause a new side battle?
Title: Re: New REG clarification need: Fight Each Other/Side Battles
Post by: everytribe on April 02, 2010, 07:36:08 PM
Just don't use Green or King Rehoboam and you'll have a lot fewer questions. :)
Title: Re: New REG clarification need: Fight Each Other/Side Battles
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on April 02, 2010, 07:51:05 PM
I think he may be willing to make a deal with you.

He'll stop using green and king rehoboam, and everyone else stops redeeming demons.
Title: Re: New REG clarification need: Fight Each Other/Side Battles
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 02, 2010, 09:00:32 PM
The answer to all of these is yes. I think the REG is already clear on that.
Title: Re: New REG clarification need: Fight Each Other/Side Battles
Post by: sk on April 03, 2010, 03:06:59 AM
This is a request that the new REG clarify the last bolded statement based on the answers to the following questions:

It has. :)

From the new REG's entry on Side Battles:
"Each player is only allowed to cause one side battle per turn. If a player has already started a side battle in the current turn, all characters are protected from side battle abilities on cards used by that player."
Title: Re: New REG clarification need: Fight Each Other/Side Battles
Post by: YourMathTeacher on April 03, 2010, 08:26:12 AM
I'm not sure that clarifies what STAMP is asking. Since he chose the blocker (King Rehoboam), is he "causing" the side battle (or "initiating" it from the old REG)?
Title: Re: New REG clarification need: Fight Each Other/Side Battles
Post by: Professoralstad on April 03, 2010, 11:23:30 AM
No. Your opponent in all cases controls King Rehoboam and can choose whether to make a side battle occur, so you are not initiating the side battle. All of these are legal.
Title: Re: New REG clarification need: Fight Each Other/Side Battles
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on April 03, 2010, 11:37:24 AM
No. Your opponent in all cases controls King Rehoboam and can choose whether to make a side battle occur, so you are not initiating the side battle. All of these are legal.
+1
Title: Re: New REG clarification need: Fight Each Other/Side Battles
Post by: STAMP on April 03, 2010, 02:33:17 PM
No. Your opponent in all cases controls King Rehoboam and can choose whether to make a side battle occur, so you are not initiating the side battle. All of these are legal.

Actually, the nice thing about King Reho is there's no "may" start side battle. 
Title: Re: New REG clarification need: Fight Each Other/Side Battles
Post by: sk on April 03, 2010, 02:57:40 PM
I agree the consensus.

"If a player has already started a side battle in the current turn, all characters are protected from side battle abilities on cards used by that player."

The green guy started a side battle, but the other guy hasn't.  Characters are protected from green guy's side battle cards.  King R is being used by the opponent, as all chosen blockers are, so he can still do a side battle of his own.
Title: Re: New REG clarification need: Fight Each Other/Side Battles
Post by: Professoralstad on April 03, 2010, 03:05:58 PM
Actually, the nice thing about King Reho is there's no "may" start side battle. 

Hmm, I guess that's true. But it is still an ability your opponent is using. If you make an opponent block with, say, Idolaters, they use the ability to capture Aaron, not you. So if there is a card that said "protect your Heroes from harm by an opponent" then they could not capture your Aaron, even though you forced them to use the ability. I think it's a similar thing here.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal