Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: RedemptionAggie on August 24, 2016, 10:58:24 PM
-
● If a warrior-class character bearing a weapon-class enhancement is converted, the weapon class enhancement is automatically converted with the character. It converts to the same brigade and remains on the character.
If The Roman Jailer is holding a weapon when converted to Clay/Red, what color is the weapon? Owner's choice, or dual color?
Converted characters are converted to the brigade color of the card with the convert ability.
Multicolor is not a specific color and cannot be used as a resultant brigade.
I can't find an example (and it may not exist), but would a dual color color convert that doesn't specify a brigade (or choice) convert to dual color, or does the owner of the convert choose between them?
-
I played it as red/clay, but now that you mention it, I have no idea!
-
As for Roman Jailer, I would rule that it converts to either brigade of the controller of TRJs choice. But if others would say it is dual, I wouldn't argue too much about it. It might even be easier to say it is dual color. I suppose there may be a situation where it is important with EMS, so it's certainly a pertinent question. But like I said, I would rule it is single-brigade of the brigade of choice at this point.
As for a multi-brigade convert, there is currently none to my knowledge, and likely will not be. However, if there was a way to add a brigade to an existing enhancement somehow, then I would rule it the same as above: controller of convert chooses which brigade.
-
I'd prefer it to be both. "Weapons convert to the brigades of the new Hero" is simpler than " weapons convert to a brigade of the new Hero, owner's choice" and both are fine for gameplay.
-
As for a multi-brigade convert, there is currently none to my knowledge, and likely will not be. However, if there was a way to add a brigade to an existing enhancement somehow, then I would rule it the same as above: controller of convert chooses which brigade.
None exist (at least none that would use the default condition), but Mimicking Miracles + Evil Spirit/Forbidden Fruit could be a dual brigade convert.
Not that that scenario matters that much, since both Evil Spirits and Forbidden Fruit only last for the rest of battle.
-
Actually, that brings up another point that may need us to update the entry for convert: Since MM can copy good enhancements' abilities, we will need to clarify that a copied convert ability uses the brigades of the copied card by default (otherwise, we would have a bunch of Heores that are evil gold or pale green...which of course cannot happen). Good catch.
-
Copy may also need an update, since Mimicking Miracles is something new that only copies the ability, not the whole card.
-
As for Roman Jailer, I would rule that it converts to either brigade of the controller of TRJs choice.
This is my take as well. We can clarify that in the next update. Thank you, Aggie.
-
I'd prefer it to be both. "Weapons convert to the brigades of the new Hero" is simpler than " weapons convert to a brigade of the new Hero, owner's choice" and both are fine for gameplay.
I agree with Daniel's take. Seems simple enough and does not require remembering anything extra since you can just look at the character's brigade to know what brigade the weapon is.