Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on May 05, 2017, 11:50:30 AM
-
1. Behemoth-he would protect the hero you play him on from capture, correct?
2. First Bowl of Wrath: Where would you activate the Idol? It doesn't say to deactivate your other artifact so if it does get activated on your artifact pile, where does that pervious artifact go?
3. Antipas-for his ignore ability, would that work for all your heroes or just him? It just says "while in battle" it doesn't say who has to be in battle...
4. Gold/Black Outsiders- So for the 2nd part of his ability, would you get to draw x and then underdeck x cards? do you underdeck cards from in play or from what you drew?
5. Can you put dominates in your reserve? If not, what is the point of Bride of Christ's ability?
-
"This character" refers to the Behemoth card. If it is played as an enhancement, it is not a character.
The default location to activate an artifact is your artifact pile. The previous artifact would be deactivated by default.
I would need to double check how we've ruled ignore phrasing in the past to answer the Antipas question.
Gold/Black Outsiders -- if the second ability is triggered, you get to draw and underdeck a total of X cards. Underdeck targeting would default to play.
Dominants cannot start in the Reserve, but they can end up in the Reserve. A couple cards allow you to exchange any good card into your Reserve to take a card out of Reserve and that would include dominants (Angel from the Altar for example).
-
There are enhancements out there that say "hero may do X" where the enhancement is referring to the hero. how would this be any different?
Would the previous artifact be negated?
-
I asked Gabe the Behemoth question via PM, and he said it did protect the hero. Did that change, or miscommunication?
I think ignore only applies to the character it's played on, unless otherwise stated. In my experience, "while in battle" refers to the card itself.
Bride can also get another copy of the NJ site, in T2 or a large T1 deck.
-
NJ is a multicolor site so I believe you can only have 1 of it per deck no matter what
I don't see why "while in battle" as to apply to the card itself. its not limiting it to itself specifically and there is no game rule I believe that says its only the card itself
-
Multicolor sites are not treated the same as other multicolor cards. They're 1 per 50, like all special ability sites.
So you want Cloud Moses to negate everything all the time? I'm pretty sure "while in battle" is shorthand for "While this card is in battle".
-
this is a good point, why doesn't Moses negate stuff all the time? Is there a rule that says while in battle is only for the card its on? If its shorthand, that's kind of bad shorthand, because it can be interpreted differently than the longhand...
-
I asked Gabe the Behemoth question via PM, and he said it did protect the hero. Did that change, or miscommunication?
I thought we had discussed that during playtesting but I could be remembering wrong.
this is a good point, why doesn't Moses negate stuff all the time? Is there a rule that says while in battle is only for the card its on? If its shorthand, that's kind of bad shorthand, because it can be interpreted differently than the longhand...
What else would "while in battle" be referring to other than the card its printed on?
-
any time while in battle. just saying while in battle could mean any time you (as a player) are in battle
-
Players are never in battle--characters are.
Players can attack/block by placing a character in battle, but players themselves are never "in battle."
-
I'm pretty sure a TC card meant to have an additional effect during battle without being in battle would say "During battle" - like Magic Charms.