Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: emonier on May 01, 2018, 09:07:41 AM

Title: Nergalsharezer - modifier or ability?
Post by: emonier on May 01, 2018, 09:07:41 AM
Is Nergalsharezer's special ability a MODIFIER?

(In other words, it cannot be negated, right?)

Thank you
Title: Re: Nergalsharezer - modifier or ability?
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on May 01, 2018, 09:11:19 AM
is that the guy that makes ot enhancements played on him cannot be negate?  if so then yes.  if a card makes something else CBN, CBP, or CBI, the ability itself CBN
Title: Re: Nergalsharezer - modifier or ability?
Post by: emonier on May 01, 2018, 11:24:39 AM
So, I just want to make sure about this.

Is the following statement correct?

ALL MODIFIERS ARE CBN.

Thanks,

Eric
Title: Re: Nergalsharezer - modifier or ability?
Post by: Ironisaac on May 01, 2018, 11:26:58 AM
I was actually wondering about that too, because the instead ability is referenced as a modifier. I know that any CBP/I/N modifiers are CBN, but Idk about ALL modifiers.
Title: Re: Nergalsharezer - modifier or ability?
Post by: The Guardian on May 01, 2018, 11:49:43 AM
Quote
ALL MODIFIERS ARE CBN.

Sort of...

"Cannot be interrupted" "Cannot be prevented" and "Cannot be negated" are modifiers, not special abilities (I know you are aware of this emonier, but in case a newer person reads this thread). There are no cards in the game that say "Negate modifiers" (nor will there ever be) so they are "CBN" by virtue of the fact that the "negate" ability targets other abilities (not modifiers). Instead of saying "ALL MODIFIERS ARE CBN" it would be more accurate to say "Modifiers are not target-able by negate abilities."

Keep in mind that some older cards use language like "Cannot be captured." Despite looking similar to the above modifiers, that is simply outdated language for "Protected from capture abilities" and is NOT a modifier.

Instead is a modifier, (which is not target-able by a negate), but the abilities that result from the instead can be negated. i.e. I discard your NT human Hero. You use Herod's Temple to instead the discard. I play Shipwreck to negate Herod's Temple and you are back to having your Hero discarded (and you also get the cards back that you discarded with HT).
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal