Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Captain Kirk on January 06, 2009, 12:48:14 PM
-
If I make a rescue attempt with a hero, say Mighty Warrior, and my opponent blocks with Nergalsharezer, if I play Angel of the Lord on the only other Babylonian in play mid battle, would Nergal's ability continue to function or would it stop working?
Nergalsharezer - "If another Babylonian is in play, O.T. Enhancements used by Nergalsharezer cannot be negated."
-
Neg's ability is dynamic and changes depending on whether or not the condition is met. Removing the only other Babylonian from play would make it so enhancements could be negated. Adding a Babylonian to play would make them "can't be negated".
-
It would stop but any enhancements played before that would remain CBN. Gah beaten to the punch
-
Alright, I figured as much but I like to make sure. Thanks guys!
Kirk
-
Does this stay consistent with the I am Truth discussion, that CBN-granting abilities are ongoing and do not require the card itself to even be around later in the battle to keep granting CBN status?
Is it just because of the "if" clause that this is treated differently?
-
This is consistent with the I am Truth discussion. The reason that I am Truth continues to work after its removal is because the card is not conditional. I am Truth allows the cards to gain CBN status solely because it gives the ignore cards such CBN on its own accord. Nergal, on the other hand, has a conditional CBN status. The conditional status is dependent on cards other than Nergal, so such CBN status cannot be guaranteed like on guaranteed cards like I am Truth.
The conditional statement did not have to use the word 'if'. 'While' would also work and there are probably a number of words that would signify such.
Kirk