Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Bobbert on July 20, 2018, 11:25:51 AM

Title: Negation vs. Removed from Play
Post by: Bobbert on July 20, 2018, 11:25:51 AM
Say that I attack with Isaac with an angel in play, allowing me to topdeck an evil card. I choose my opponent's Philistine Outpost. My opponent wants to use Outpost (discarding an evil card from deck), saying that even though it is no longer in play it is the same phase and it was never negated.

Spoiler: Isaac (hover to show)

Spoiler: Philistine Outpost (hover to show)
Title: Re: Negation vs. Removed from Play
Post by: The Guardian on July 20, 2018, 11:30:16 AM
Optional triggered abilities cannot be triggered if the card leaves play even if the card is not negated.

I believe that is in the REG, though I am not able to look it up at the moment.
Title: Re: Negation vs. Removed from Play
Post by: NathanW on July 20, 2018, 11:34:51 AM
Quote from: REG
Triggered effects may be optional or mandatory. Optional triggered effects will be designated
with a “may” or similar wording, while mandatory triggered effects simply describe the outcome
without giving a choice. Mandatory triggered effects that are not negated persist at least until the
end of the current phase, even if the card leaves play or set aside, unless otherwise specified on
the card. If the triggering event deactivates the ability without interrupting or negating it, then the
triggered effect can still be activated. If the triggering event activates the ability, then the
triggered effect can still be activated. Otherwise, optional triggered effects may only be activated
while the card it is on is controlled by the holder and is either in play, Land of Redemption or
set-aside area
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal