Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: cookie monster on April 09, 2012, 08:43:29 PM

Title: negation troubles
Post by: cookie monster on April 09, 2012, 08:43:29 PM
If the negator lost soul is in play and then rescued wile the shuffler is still in play, does the shuffler still shuffle all other lost souls and captured heroes? Or is shuffler negated?
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: lp670sv on April 09, 2012, 09:15:51 PM
I believe the negate lost soul says ":while this card is in play" so when it leaves play the shuffler is now active again.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: Redoubter on April 09, 2012, 09:22:40 PM
I believe the negate lost soul says ":while this card is in play" so when it leaves play the shuffler is now active again.

It is actually:
Quote
Beginning in the phase after this card is put in play, negate all special abilities on Lost Soul cards (except this one)

And to be perfectly honest, I have no idea what this means in every case, because I have seen multiple rulings about what happens when souls are rescued and in what order, and what is active in LoR if they were rescued while FBTN was out...and in general I dislike this card because it confuses me ;)
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 09, 2012, 11:15:05 PM
Abilities continue until the end of phase unless Negated. Being rescued doesn't turn off FbtN LS.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: Chronic Apathy on April 09, 2012, 11:16:14 PM
Abilities continue until the end of phase unless Negated. Being rescued doesn't turn off FbtN LS.

This. The "Thorns" Lost Soul turns off as soon as it leaves play because it specifically says, "while this Lost Soul (or card, I don't remember) is in play..."; since the FBTN Lost Soul doesn't say that, it doesn't work.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: megamanlan on April 10, 2012, 12:39:45 AM
I believe the phase after FBTN LS is rescued is when it's effect turns off. But LS's that were played while it was out are still negated, and cannot activate their effects. At least this is what I heard from another thread.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: browarod on April 10, 2012, 12:10:43 PM
I believe the phase after FBTN LS is rescued is when it's effect turns off. But LS's that were played while it was out are still negated, and cannot activate their effects. At least this is what I heard from another thread.
That is true for instant abilities (like the Hopper, Revealer, hand/deck discard already put in a site, etc.) but ongoing ones like NT/Female do get their abilities once FBTN leaves play.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: megamanlan on April 10, 2012, 12:22:44 PM
So even if they were put in play when FBTN was out?
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: browarod on April 10, 2012, 12:48:12 PM
So even if they were put in play when FBTN was out?
AFAIK, yes.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: megamanlan on April 10, 2012, 01:04:47 PM
Okay, there was a big debate before if they're was or not and I zoned out I it after a while.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: cookie monster on April 10, 2012, 06:37:37 PM
Is shuffler ongoing or not?
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: Chronic Apathy on April 10, 2012, 06:49:25 PM
Is shuffler ongoing or not?

No, however, it would still activate when rescued if the FBTN has been out of play during all of that phase.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: megamanlan on April 10, 2012, 07:30:24 PM
Yep. If u rescued it in the Phase afterwards, it may be a different story. Speaking of, if FBTN is out when Shuffler is played, but then FBTN is rescue and later in the game Shuffler is rescued, will Shuffler work?
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: Praeceps on April 10, 2012, 08:40:27 PM
Yep. If u rescued it in the Phase afterwards, it may be a different story. Speaking of, if FBTN is out when Shuffler is played, but then FBTN is rescue and later in the game Shuffler is rescued, will Shuffler work?

As long as it is a different phase then the one the FBTN LS was rescued in, yes. The shuffler activates on rescue, not draw.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: megamanlan on April 10, 2012, 10:40:32 PM
That makes sense. I just wanted to be sure that it isn't Prevented.
So what about Anti-Burial?
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 11, 2012, 12:43:24 AM
If Anti-burial is Rescued while Negated, it doesn't work.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: Praeceps on April 11, 2012, 08:12:41 AM
That makes sense. I just wanted to be sure that it isn't Prevented.
So what about Anti-Burial?

Same rules as Shuffler; the ability activates on rescue.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: cookie monster on April 11, 2012, 03:59:25 PM
So if on my turn I rescue FBTN, and the next turn opponent rescues shuffler, shuffler still works?
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: Chronic Apathy on April 11, 2012, 04:31:58 PM
So if on my turn I rescue FBTN, and the next turn opponent rescues shuffler, shuffler still works?

Yes.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: megamanlan on April 11, 2012, 07:07:31 PM
+1
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: cookie monster on April 12, 2012, 01:19:43 PM
So the phase after the FBTN is taken out of play every thing turns back on?
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: Chronic Apathy on April 12, 2012, 01:23:28 PM
So the phase after the FBTN is taken out of play every thing turns back on?

Yes. However, as mentioned, abilities that have already tried to activate (Shame, the discard Lost Souls, etc) do not activate.
Title: Re: negation troubles
Post by: cookie monster on April 12, 2012, 01:28:48 PM
Thank you, this all makes sense now ;)

God Bless!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal