Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on December 07, 2016, 09:40:17 PM

Title: Negation of souls
Post by: Watchman on December 07, 2016, 09:40:17 PM
Why does Moses not negate the Hopper but negates Lawless, Awake, and other souls whose SA activates upon being drawn?
Title: Re: Negation of souls
Post by: Minister Polarius on December 07, 2016, 10:02:02 PM
Moses negates Hopper. Mayhem delenda est.
Title: Re: Negation of souls
Post by: Watchman on December 08, 2016, 01:47:27 PM
Apparently I misread this post by Redoubter then regarding this topic. So if I draw the Hopper and Moses is already out I guess it stays in my LoB? Same scenario if the FBTN soul is already out?

The Hopper does still enter play before the ability activates.  Lost Souls are placed in LoB and replaced by game rule, and they activate once placed in LoB; they can't have an active ability unless they are played, and since they are played in territory, Moses will prevent them.

Place abilities are instant; if they already completed in a previous phase, they cannot be undone.  In the case of Dragon Raid, a previously-placed Hopper will remain in its location, so long as it happened in a previous phase.
Title: Re: Negation of souls
Post by: The Guardian on December 08, 2016, 02:08:25 PM
Correct. If something (Moses, FBTN soul) is active when Hopper is drawn, Hopper is negated. If Hopper is drawn in the draw phase, and then Moses is later put on the table during the prep phase, the Hopper's instant ability has already resolved and it cannot be negated at that point.

Title: Re: Negation of souls
Post by: Watchman on December 08, 2016, 02:11:14 PM
Got it. Thanks to you both.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal