Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Scoobug on January 11, 2012, 01:51:58 PM
-
Although this doesn't happen very often, when an artifact is negated does it "take back" everything that that artifact did throughout its activation? For example, when a protecting artifact like Alter of Incense is negated, does that discard all heroes that were previously targeted for discard and protected by Alter of Incense? By the way Alter of Incense's special ability is "Protect O.T. Heros from discard abilities on evil Enhancements." Thank you.
-
A negation of an artifact undoes everything that happened that phase because of it. If it's negated during battle, it does reverse effects from battle. After battle, it's too late, since it's a different phase.
Altar of Incense is in a different boat though. It grants Heroes protection. A protected card cannot be targeted at all, so if something like Wrath of Satan is played ("Discard all Heroes in play."), it can't even try to discard OT Heroes with Altar up. They're just not a valid target. So if Altar of Incense is negated after the fact, it's too late; Wrath of Satan already chose its targets.
-
So it's not negating the effects of the artifact for the whole game just the current phase. Thank you that helps a lot.
-
So it's not negating the effects of the artifact for the whole game just the current phase. Thank you that helps a lot.
This is true for any ongoing effect, including Artifacts, Fortresses and Lost Souls.