Author Topic: Negating a CBN band  (Read 860 times)

Offline Mr.Hiatus

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1650
  • Play Type 2
    • -
    • Southeast Region
Re: Negating a CBN band
« Reply #25 on: June 13, 2019, 11:24:33 AM »
0
Which means we aren’t sticking to his ruling then lol we are sticking to his ruling plus what we agreed should work and added it on.
Make America Play Type 2 Again.

Online RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2984
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Negating a CBN band
« Reply #26 on: June 13, 2019, 07:57:40 PM »
+2
Sooo...where are we with this?

RedemptionAggie’s response is going to be the official ruling, apparently.

His ruling is correct, except for one thing:  The hero that Daniel banded to would still be in battle.  Daniel is CBN, so his band sticks no matter what.

Agreed.

I agree with that change. I'm not sure why I left that off.

Offline Kor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 715
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Negating a CBN band
« Reply #27 on: June 17, 2019, 11:45:50 PM »
+1
Sorry to drag this back up but I just want to make sure I understand correctly.  With another example!:


Player A: Attacks with Angel from the Sun>Exchanges for Justin Martyr in territory>Draws 2>Searches out Word of their Testimony from reserve CBI.

Player B: Blocks with a 7/7 Evil Human

Player A: Uses Word of their Testimony to underdeck the Evil Human in battle

Player B: Uses Three Woes to negate Angel from the Sun

So from my understanding this would 'cascade prevent' Word of their Testimony, bringing back the 7/7 Evil Human, and put Justin Martyr back in territory leaving Angel from the Sun as the Hero in battle.  Ouch.

1. Is that correct?

Bonus Questions:

2. What happens to the Word of their Testimony that was searched out (CBI) and played?

3. If Player A has Polycarp in territory, can Polycarp instead this indirect kind of interrupting?
 
Life is what you make of it.

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3180
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Negating a CBN band
« Reply #28 on: July 11, 2019, 10:03:38 AM »
0
I just realized Kor's question never got answered.

1. When Angel is negated by Woes, the following happen:
    - Justin Martyr goes back to territory and Angel comes back to battle.
    - The 2 cards drawn go back on top of deck.
    - Word of Their Testimony is cascade-negated, but since it was searched out with a CBI ability, it goes back to your hand.

2. See bullet point 3 in my answer for question 1.

3. I don't see why not.  I would rule that you can discard Polycarp to "instead" the cascade-negation of WotT, which would keep it in battle (to immediately be discarded by game rule, since only Angel would be in battle at that time). 

The fact that it is discarded immediately does not actually affect WotT's activation; by "insteading" the negation, it was never actually negated.  It was played on a legal target when it was played (Justin), and wasn't negated, so it sticks.
If creation sings Your praises so will I
If You gave Your life to love them so will I

Offline Kor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 715
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Negating a CBN band
« Reply #29 on: July 11, 2019, 11:20:36 AM »
0
Thanks Josh, that makes sense.
Life is what you make of it.