Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on March 23, 2010, 02:54:51 PM

Title: Negate an enhancement (IN game HALP)
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on March 23, 2010, 02:54:51 PM
When a card states it negates an enhancement it removes the numbers as well correct? (According to the Cov with Noah ruling)
Title: Re: Negate an enhancement (IN game HALP)
Post by: Professoralstad on March 23, 2010, 02:58:20 PM
"Negate an enhancement" means both the SA and numbers are negated, but the enhancement isn't discarded unless the negate card says so.
Title: Re: Negate an enhancement (IN game HALP)
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on March 23, 2010, 02:59:13 PM
Thanks!
Title: Re: Negate an enhancement (IN game HALP)
Post by: D-man on March 23, 2010, 03:52:20 PM
I have a somewhat related question...if Cov of Noah is used on an enhancement placed in territory, what exactly happens?  (I need something that I can quote to doubters  :)).
Title: Re: Negate an enhancement (IN game HALP)
Post by: Professoralstad on March 23, 2010, 03:57:07 PM
Place abilities can only be negated in the same phase they are used. If you place Abom in my territory, I can use Covenant of Noah to negate the placement during the phase it is played, so that it is discarded at the end of battle, or more likely immediately if you used it with High Places.

If however, you don't negate the placement when it is placed, it sticks. You can use CoN to negate it for one phase (i.e., if you negate it during battle, you can draw as much as you want with no penalty) but it remains in your territory to affect everything after that phase.
Title: Re: Negate an enhancement (IN game HALP)
Post by: D-man on March 23, 2010, 04:18:33 PM
If however, you don't negate the placement when it is placed, it sticks. You can use CoN to negate it for one phase (i.e., if you negate it during battle, you can draw as much as you want with no penalty) but it remains in your territory to affect everything after that phase.
That's what I thought.  Thanks!
Title: Re: Negate an enhancement (IN game HALP)
Post by: BubbleBoy on March 23, 2010, 07:58:08 PM
"Negate an enhancement" means both the SA and numbers are negated, but the enhancement isn't discarded unless the negate card says so.
I have always thought this was the way it was, but I have many times been finger-waggled because of this.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal