Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: christiangamer25 on February 09, 2011, 12:22:10 AM

Title: Need a ruling
Post by: christiangamer25 on February 09, 2011, 12:22:10 AM
opponet makes a ra i block they play words d3 play next
one of the cards they draw is an exchange card
in this case lillies
they exchange and play a set aside
so i play mask of fear
im pretty sure everything from the d3 is undone
including the exchange
since its not cbn

IM 99 PERCENT SURE IM RIGHT
Title: Re: Need a ruling
Post by: Gabe on February 09, 2011, 12:25:46 AM
what exchange card did they play?  Exchange cards like Great Faith cannot be interrupted once they've taken place.

Also if your opponent set-aside the Hero(es) in battle then you don't have inish to play anything because you're winning.
Title: Re: Need a ruling
Post by: christiangamer25 on February 09, 2011, 12:27:44 AM
they played considering the lillies and they were setting aside my ec so i was losing but why can't lillies be interrupted when they drew it with words of encouragement which got negated thats stupid
Title: Re: Need a ruling
Post by: Gabe on February 09, 2011, 12:46:17 AM
Mask of Fear only targets the cards in play.  You're negating the set-aside but not the Lilies since it's out of play.
Title: Re: Need a ruling
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on February 09, 2011, 12:46:51 AM
Gabe is correct that they can't be directly negated because they're in the deck, and thus not targetable.

What I am unsure of is if they can be indirectly negated by negating the D3.   #EDIT# After some research and consultation, I have come to the conclusion that Gabe is correct that it cannot be negated after exchanging, no way, no how.

If they used something like Magnificat to set-aside your EC (Which is what I think you meant) Then yes, you have initiative to negate, if they played something like First Fruits (Like Gabe thought you meant) then you do not have initiative.

Also important to note here, is that Consider the Lillies is worded with Search language, so I believe that the card goes to hand, not battle, so if they have some numbers, you may actually have had initiative before they played the card.
Title: Re: Need a ruling
Post by: christiangamer25 on February 09, 2011, 12:51:46 AM
well kinda need to know
Title: Re: Need a ruling
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on February 09, 2011, 12:55:57 AM
You cannot directly, or indirectly negate Consider the Lillies after it has searched and exchanged.
Title: Re: Need a ruling
Post by: Gabe on February 09, 2011, 12:57:14 AM
RDT is correct, Lilies is not unplayed when the D3 is negated.
Title: Re: Need a ruling
Post by: crustpope on February 09, 2011, 01:09:08 PM
The other cards can be "undrawn" but lillies cannot be "unplayed"
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal