Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on May 18, 2016, 11:08:58 AM
-
I block with Nebuchadnezzar and add King Pekah to battle from deck. I then search my deck for a Crimson weapon (either Swift Horses or Every Man's Sword) and place it on Pekah. Does the weapon immediately activate? Pekah says "place", not "add to battle".
And if I survive the battle, can I keep the weapon on Nebuchadnezzar instead of Pekah?
King Pekah - "Discard King Pekahiah. Search your draw pile for one crimson brigade weapon class enhancement and place on King Pekah. Character has first strike ability."
-
I think it has to stay on Pekah, and I would guess it activates after being placed.
(Let's see what a Host says ;) )
-
I could always be wrong but here is my line of ruling. It is an enhancement and it is being placed in battle, when an enhancement is put into battle it activates. So I would rule yes, again unless there is something missing behind my logic which is very possible with all the stuff that is being discussed right now.
-
If the enhancement was Swift Horses, could you do the play next even though it says "If used by a Babylonian, you may play the next enhancement" and King Pekah isn't a Babylonian, because Nebuchadnezzar is in battle?
-
If the enhancement was Swift Horses, could you do the play next even though it says "If used by a Babylonian, you may play the next enhancement" and King Pekah isn't a Babylonian, because Nebuchadnezzar is in battle?
I would rule that you could not play the next even with Nebby in battle, because the card was activated on King Pekah. Normally you get to choose who you play the enhancement on, but in this case you have no choice.
-
+1 That's how I would rule as well. Also, per the rules of weapons, you are allowed to transfer the weapon to Nebby after battle.
-
I would rule that you could not play the next even with Nebby in battle, because the card was activated on King Pekah. Normally you get to choose who you play the enhancement on, but in this case you have no choice.
+1
The conditions for Swift Horses would not be present to use the ability
-
I would rule that you could not play the next even with Nebby in battle, because the card was activated on King Pekah. Normally you get to choose who you play the enhancement on, but in this case you have no choice.
+1
The conditions for Swift Horses would not be present to use the ability
I can see the thought process that goes behind this ruling. I think I disagree though. Here's my thought:
Weapons are held by WC characters due to a "Holds" identifier that is inherent on each WC character, and weapons are "placed" on WC characters. Then, each time the WC character enters battle, the enhancement is "played".
Pekah says to "place" the Crimson weapon on Pekah. He doesn't say to "play" it on Pekah. The weapon then activates ("is played") because it is in battle. To me, this is the same as if the weapon were placed on Pekah in territory, and then I played Lurking on Nebuchadnezzar to bring Pekah into battle. "Placing" the weapon, and choosing who it activates on when it is "played", are different. I believe I should be able to have Nebuchadnezzar "play" Swift Horses, even if added to battle by Pekah's ability.
I'm sure Redoubter will find something in the REG that contradicts this, but I looked and couldn't find anything contradictory, so that's my opinion :D
-
you are allowed to transfer the weapon to Nebby after battle.
Since when were you allowed to move the weapon from character to character? I've never heard it ruled that way, and pretty sure I asked this question before as was told you couldn't. I could obviously be wrong, but wanted a clarification!
-
you are allowed to transfer the weapon to Nebby after battle.
Since when were you allowed to move the weapon from character to character? I've never heard it ruled that way, and pretty sure I asked this question before as was told you couldn't. I could obviously be wrong, but wanted a clarification!
It is the correct ruling (I'm pretty sure, weapons always confuse me...), but I am 99% certain we're going to be clarifying that more soon anyway, so look to that!
-
To go back to the original question, the REG explicitly says that placing a card doesn't activate it. It also says that weapons are "only active in battle". Would this mean they would automatically activate as soon as they enter battle, regardless of who they are placed on? That is the only bit of info I could find on the matter, and it seems really ambiguous.
-
To go back to the original question, the REG explicitly says that placing a card doesn't activate it. It also says that weapons are "only active in battle". Would this mean they would automatically activate as soon as they enter battle, regardless of who they are placed on? That is the only bit of info I could find on the matter, and it seems really ambiguous.
I've been pondering this too, and I didn't want to just come out and throw a wrench in there without thinking it through completely, but I'm going to have to say I disagree with the ruling being given here.
A placed enhancement is not activated when placed (we have plenty of examples of this for precedent, placer-priests and Sower being first to come to mind). We know this to be the case, and so that means that, to me, the weapon is not going to be activating this battle. It did not enter battle with the character, which is when weapons abilities are activated (and waiting their turn to complete). It was rather placed on a character in battle, and I don't see any precedent for that allowing it to activate its special ability.
-
I'd assume that the numbers of the weapon would count still if this were the case. But what about weapons that discard themselves for an effect could they then activate since their activations are dependent on them being discarded vice played?
-
I would say no because it still needs to "activate" for the special ability (whatever it is) to work at all. And I would also think the numbers would NOT count towards that character. Placed cards don't generally contribute their numbers to the characters they are placed on (see Panic Demons).
Honestly, given that it's a Place ability without a follow-up on when the weapon activates, I'm not entirely sure that it ever activates. The "placer" heroes/enhancements all specify an activation time (afaik) but this one doesn't.
-
Honestly, given that it's a Place ability without a follow-up on when the weapon activates, I'm not entirely sure that it ever activates. The "placer" heroes/enhancements all specify an activation time (afaik) but this one doesn't.
Since the REG says that weapons that are on characters activate when that character enters battle, it would activate the next battle. It doesn't activate by an ability, but by a game rule.
-
Yes but I wasn't sure if Place abilities had different defaults. I checked the REG for "Place" and confirmed it says: Placed cards can still be affected as usual by game rules and special abilities as long as their condition(s) are still satisfied.
So I retract my inquiry and I believe the weapon would activate as normal when Pekah next enters battle.
-
So if that's the way we're going, does that mean Pekah can hold a weapon in addition to the placed weapon?
-
After battle he can only hold one weapon, so you would have to choose which to keep. I think it is that when it is placed, it is as if it is held by him. But after battle, the reg specifies that he can only keep one placed on him.
-
So if that's the way we're going, does that mean Pekah can hold a weapon in addition to the placed weapon?
I'd say yes, as he is placing the weapon, not holding/equipping one. This would also mean that using his ability he could "hold" as many weapons as could be found in or made crimson brigade as there is no limit to the number of placed enhancements that can be held on a character...
Default Conditions
● Placed cards remain where they are placed indefinitely.
-
I want to say King pekah could just be erattaed to fix this bit a similar albeit different problem seems to come up with David's tent. Michael for instance could have weapons placed on him with davids tent and they would not be negated. I don't think that these interactions were intended but is it a bad thing?
-
Actually the wording on Tent could be ruled that the special ability doesn't convert instead of saying it is negated and achieve the same result without any Michael weirdness since "has no effect" essentially means "is ignored" which means nothing in this case.