Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: NormireX on November 30, 2012, 02:36:46 AM

Title: Mutual Destruction and no Enhancements?
Post by: NormireX on November 30, 2012, 02:36:46 AM
OK so a friend of mine and I were playing the other night and we were in mutual destruction and I had initiative but had no enhancements left to play, does init. go back to my friend so he can prevent his evil character from being discarded by adding another enhancement? Or how should that play out?

We ended up playing it that he could go ahead and play an enhancement to save his evil char.,  but I would like some clarity on the subject.

Any info. would be most appreciated. Thanks!
Title: Re: Mutual Destruction and no Enhancements?
Post by: jbeers285 on November 30, 2012, 02:41:06 AM
Yes he gets initiative to play to save his character or discard, capture what ever it would be.

Now if he had initiative first and passed and then u pass he already had his chance to play so mutual destruction would occur
Title: Re: Mutual Destruction and no Enhancements?
Post by: RTSmaniac on November 30, 2012, 11:28:25 AM
Actually it passes back and forth 3 times. I don't know why just a wierd Redemption rule I guess. Maybe there's so me biblical application there like when someone offends you, you go to your brother 3 times before you give them over to the enemy.
Title: Mutual Destruction and no Enhancements?
Post by: jbeers285 on November 30, 2012, 11:29:50 AM
Insert foot in mouth lol
Title: Re: Mutual Destruction and no Enhancements?
Post by: Chris on November 30, 2012, 12:16:45 PM
Actually it passes back and forth 3 times. I don't know why just a wierd Redemption rule I guess. Maybe there's so me biblical application there like when someone offends you, you go to your brother 3 times before you give them over to the enemy.

I remember hearing this rule before, but I've never once seen it applied. Is this still the case?
Title: Re: Mutual Destruction and no Enhancements?
Post by: STAMP on November 30, 2012, 01:23:08 PM
Actually it passes back and forth 3 times. I don't know why just a wierd Redemption rule I guess. Maybe there's so me biblical application there like when someone offends you, you go to your brother 3 times before you give them over to the enemy.

I remember hearing this rule before, but I've never once seen it applied. Is this still the case?

I know it seems like an urban legend, especially considering that it never occurs at big tournaments (what with all the CBN and pre-ignore winners).  It happens quite often with playgroups.
Title: Re: Mutual Destruction and no Enhancements?
Post by: Minister Polarius on November 30, 2012, 01:55:21 PM
It's actually quite the logical rule. In a mutual-destruction situation, the Hero has the advantage and first initiative. So he would pass, giving the defender a chance to play something to get out of mutual destruction. If he did not, the Hero then has the final option to terminate the battle or play something to get out of mutual destruction.

This doesn't happen in big tournaments because SA's are more important than numbers, but when newbies are playing with less SA's and more number boosters, it's important to know exactly how initiative passing works.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal