Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on December 22, 2016, 11:52:13 AM

Title: Moses + Placed EEs
Post by: Josh on December 22, 2016, 11:52:13 AM
Scenario:  My opponent has Moses (CoW) in play.  I block his rescue attempt and play Arrest in Gethsemane in battle. 

What happens when AiG places itself in territory?  Since Moses' ongoing ability is a Prevent, and AiG already activated in battle, does AiG work?  Or does only the "Place in a territory" portion of AiG work?

Moses - "Negate enhancements, lost souls, and characters in territories (except Cloud cards).  While in battle, negate enhancements and characters in the field of battle (except Cloud cards)."

Arrest in Gethsemane - "Place this card in a territory: Judas and Sadducees cannot be ignored. Protect all Lost Souls from rescue, except by human Heroes. Discard this card after 3 turns."
Title: Re: Moses + Placed EEs
Post by: Kevinthedude on December 22, 2016, 12:13:20 PM
AiG is played in battle, the place ability activates, it hits territory, Moses negates the place ability, it goes back to battle negated, and is discarded after the battle like a normal enhancement.
Title: Re: Moses + Placed EEs
Post by: Josh on December 22, 2016, 12:19:48 PM
AiG is played in battle, the place ability activates, it hits territory, Moses negates the place ability, it goes back to battle negated, and is discarded after the battle like a normal enhancement.

How can a Prevent ability Negate something? 

For reference of Moses' instant ability being a Negate and his ongoing ability being a Prevent, see here (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/moses-strife/).  The relevant post is Gabe's post - the 3rd-to-last on page 1.
Title: Re: Moses + Placed EEs
Post by: The Guardian on December 22, 2016, 12:52:51 PM
I believe AiG would be active until Moses re-activated his ability by entering battle.
Title: Re: Moses + Placed EEs
Post by: Kevinthedude on December 22, 2016, 01:06:06 PM
AiG is played in battle, the place ability activates, it hits territory, Moses negates the place ability, it goes back to battle negated, and is discarded after the battle like a normal enhancement.

How can a Prevent ability Negate something? 

For reference of Moses' instant ability being a Negate and his ongoing ability being a Prevent, see here (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/moses-strife/).  The relevant post is Gabe's post - the 3rd-to-last on page 1.

That makes sense, I stand corrected.
Title: Re: Moses + Placed EEs
Post by: Watchman on December 23, 2016, 07:00:09 AM
I've wondered this myself (what Jmhartz said in his original post): does Moses prevent the "Place in a territory" portion of a TC enh, or only what follows this wording?
Title: Re: Moses + Placed EEs
Post by: Kevinthedude on December 23, 2016, 11:12:28 AM
Place is just like any other ability so if Moses would prevent a card that would include the placement.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal