Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: emonier on March 06, 2017, 03:41:28 PM

Title: Moses (CoW) and Goshen?
Post by: emonier on March 06, 2017, 03:41:28 PM
Question:

If you place Moses (CoW) in Goshen (C or Wa), would his negating abilities still be effective in the territories?

Thanks
Title: Re: Moses (CoW) and Goshen?
Post by: The Guardian on March 06, 2017, 04:25:17 PM
Yes, Goshen is in your territory therefore Moses would still be in your territory and thus active.
Title: Re: Moses (CoW) and Goshen?
Post by: emonier on March 07, 2017, 07:26:46 AM
Wow, has anyone else thought of doing this?

It seems like a great way to protect Moses from being discarded (e.g. Angel of the Lord), while still using his negating abilities.
Title: Re: Moses (CoW) and Goshen?
Post by: Josh on March 07, 2017, 11:25:33 AM
Wow, has anyone else thought of doing this?

It seems like a great way to protect Moses from being discarded (e.g. Angel of the Lord), while still using his negating abilities.

I assume you meant Christian Martyr instead of Angel of the Lord?

At any rate, including 1 card just to protect 1 hero in territory is usually not a good strategy for Type 1 decks.  If your deck is 50-57 cards (which most are), after accounting for lost souls and Dominants, you only have 35-42 slots for your offense, defense, and support cards.  Goshen just isn't worth it at that point.

And frankly, if your opponent resorts to playing Christian Martyr on your Moses in territory instead of using it to block a rescue attempt, you are already ahead.  Not to mention that Angel With the Secret Name, Angel Under the Oak, and Eternal Covenant are all really good cards that work well in decks with Moses, and all can get him back from discard.
Title: Re: Moses (CoW) and Goshen?
Post by: emonier on March 07, 2017, 01:51:02 PM
JM:

Yes, I meant Christian Martyr.

All good points - thank you!

-EM
Title: Re: Moses (CoW) and Goshen?
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 07, 2017, 11:36:01 PM
It'd keep him safe from Punisher, Thorns & Thistles, etc.
Title: Re: Moses (CoW) and Goshen?
Post by: The Guardian on March 08, 2017, 12:20:36 AM
I believe the rule is you cannot be protected from negate (since negate targets abilities, not the card).
Title: Re: Moses (CoW) and Goshen?
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 13, 2017, 07:53:50 PM
Good to know when Thaddeus is trying to get all Jurassic.
Title: Re: Moses (CoW) and Goshen?
Post by: The Guardian on March 14, 2017, 10:37:10 AM
The problem with Thaddeus was never the blanket protection, it was the CBI... :doh:
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal