Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Warrior_Monk on May 15, 2013, 02:51:48 PM

Title: Miraculous Catch and Lost Souls
Post by: Warrior_Monk on May 15, 2013, 02:51:48 PM
Miraculous Catch: You may draw one, or if used by Peter draw 3 and discard one of those.

I draw 3 cards, and one of them is a lost soul, which goes in play and I draw another card.

A. Can I discard the lost soul?
B. Can I discard the card I drew after the lost soul?
Title: Re: Miraculous Catch and Lost Souls
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on May 15, 2013, 02:54:20 PM
A) I see no reason why you couldn't.
B) This I'm not so sure about.
Title: Re: Miraculous Catch and Lost Souls
Post by: TimMierz on May 15, 2013, 02:55:10 PM
I have to imagine that you can choose any of the cards that end up in your hand, and never a Lost Soul. I can't fully back that up though.
Title: Re: Miraculous Catch and Lost Souls
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on May 15, 2013, 02:57:22 PM
It never says that "one of those" must be in hand.
Title: Re: Miraculous Catch and Lost Souls
Post by: Gabe on May 15, 2013, 02:58:37 PM
For all game play purposes, Miraculous Catch included, Lost Souls do not count as a card drawn. Instead you immediately draw a new card to replace the Lost Soul.
Title: Re: Miraculous Catch and Lost Souls
Post by: Professoralstad on May 15, 2013, 04:15:41 PM
I agree. Just like Gifts of the Magi doesn't let you draw 6 if your opponent plays Reach and draws 3 LSs, Foreign Wives and Abijam don't count Lost Souls drawn, and Miraculous Catch doesn't let you discard them.
Title: Re: Miraculous Catch and Lost Souls
Post by: Warrior_Monk on May 15, 2013, 04:26:47 PM
For all game play purposes, Miraculous Catch included, Lost Souls do not count as a card drawn. Instead you immediately draw a new card to replace the Lost Soul.
So...Hopper (or any other when drawn lost soul) is never actually drawn and thus the ability never takes effect?
Title: Re: Miraculous Catch and Lost Souls
Post by: TimMierz on May 15, 2013, 04:29:38 PM
The REG: "When a Lost Soul is drawn it is placed in the owner's Land of Bondage and another card is drawn to replace the Lost Soul. The Lost Soul does not count as one of the cards drawn."

A Lost Soul doesn't count as a drawn card for draw abilities, but the Hopper soul can identify itself as being drawn. I think that makes sense?
Title: Re: Miraculous Catch and Lost Souls
Post by: Gabe on May 15, 2013, 04:30:10 PM
So...Hopper (or any other when drawn lost soul) is never actually drawn and thus the ability never takes effect?

Only yours, Andrew. ::)
Title: Re: Miraculous Catch and Lost Souls
Post by: Warrior_Monk on May 15, 2013, 05:33:19 PM
The REG: "When a Lost Soul is drawn it is placed in the owner's Land of Bondage and another card is drawn to replace the Lost Soul. The Lost Soul does not count as one of the cards drawn."

A Lost Soul doesn't count as a drawn card for draw abilities, but the Hopper soul can identify itself as being drawn. I think that makes sense?
That makes sense. I knew it wouldn't work, nor did I want it to work, I just didn't see how it'd be a consistant ruling. That's more complicated, but at least it's a solid ruling.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal