Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Redoubter on April 18, 2013, 07:33:09 PM

Title: Mayhem Ruling
Post by: Redoubter on April 18, 2013, 07:33:09 PM
The errata'd ability for Mayhem reads:
Quote
If it is not the first round of the game, each player must shuffle hand into deck to draw six.

The Tournament Host Guide reads:
Quote
No player may play the Dominant, Mayhem during the first round of play.

I have seen it ruled since the errata that Mayhem may be played in the first turn without effect, and this is the way the errata reads.  Is the Host Guide's addition actually changing the ruling?
Title: Re: Mayhem Ruling
Post by: Gabe on April 18, 2013, 07:40:07 PM
I do not believe it does. The errata is accurate. DOMINANTS can be played anytime. Mayhem just won't do anything during the first round.
Title: Re: Mayhem Ruling
Post by: Professoralstad on April 18, 2013, 07:43:30 PM
That was one of the original options we looked into when discussing the Mayhem issue, but I have no knowledge of it being an actual rule, since we favored the errata in the end. I'm guessing its just an error transcribed from our discussions, as I see no reason why it should be restricted from play.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal