Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Xonathan on March 13, 2017, 12:45:31 PM

Title: Mayhem Question
Post by: Xonathan on March 13, 2017, 12:45:31 PM
If you only have mayhem in your hand and play it, can you draw 6 if you have nothing to shuffle?
Title: Re: Mayhem Question
Post by: Jeremystair on March 13, 2017, 01:01:18 PM
I think you would have to have at least one card to shuffle. Because Mayhem says each player must Shuffle hand into deck to draw six. So if you have nothing to Shuffle then you can't draw.
Title: Re: Mayhem Question
Post by: Master Q on March 13, 2017, 01:07:23 PM
If you can still discard a hand of 0 cards for Primary Objective, you can shuffle a hand of 0 cards. I would say you could draw as long as you shuffle your deck first.
Title: Re: Mayhem Question
Post by: The Guardian on March 13, 2017, 01:29:20 PM
If you can still discard a hand of 0 cards for Primary Objective, you can shuffle a hand of 0 cards. I would say you could draw as long as you shuffle your deck first.

I believe this is correct--you can also discard a hand of 0 cards per the Sinning Hand ruling (unless that changed, but I'm not aware if it did).
Title: Re: Mayhem Question
Post by: megamanlan on March 13, 2017, 01:30:53 PM
If you can still discard a hand of 0 cards for Primary Objective, you can shuffle a hand of 0 cards. I would say you could draw as long as you shuffle your deck first.

Actually Primary Objective has a Min of 7 to Discard. But as to the question: No. you don't have to shuffle any cards to draw. It's actually a common strategy (other then just hand hate)
Title: Re: Mayhem Question
Post by: The Guardian on March 13, 2017, 01:32:44 PM
He was referring to the opponent being able to discard a 0 card hand to instead the rescue.
Title: Re: Mayhem Question
Post by: browarod on March 13, 2017, 02:51:18 PM
I concur that you can shuffle a hand of 0 cards to draw from Mayhem (as much as I disagree with that ruling in the case of all these cards). The wording is cost:benefit to prevent people with protected hands from keeping their hand AND drawing 6.
Title: Re: Mayhem Question
Post by: Jeremystair on March 13, 2017, 03:09:22 PM
If it says must Shuffle hand and you have nothing in your hand how does that work?

REG---> Hand:  A player’s hand is where a player holds all of the cards that are not in their deck or discard pile but have not been played.  Player’s put cards from their hand on the table to play them. 
Title: Re: Mayhem Question
Post by: The Guardian on March 13, 2017, 03:17:06 PM
The ruling was made that the "hand" is a location therefore it exists even if there are no cards in that location.
Title: Re: Mayhem Question
Post by: kariusvega on March 13, 2017, 03:48:18 PM
The ruling was made that the "hand" is a location therefore it exists even if there are no cards in that location.

well this is sure good to know :p
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal