Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: slugfencer on November 20, 2010, 12:21:08 AM
-
Sin in the Camp (Pi)
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Pale Green • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Place in a player’s territory. During that player’s upkeep phase, he must place a card from hand beneath draw pile. That player may reveal a good Dominant from hand and place it beneath draw pile to discard this card. • Errata: Place in a player's territory. During that player's Upkeep Phase, he must place a card from hand beneath deck. That player may reveal a good Dominant from hand and place it beneath deck to discard all copies of this card in his territory. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Joshua 7:11 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Rare)
Mayhem (TP)
Type: Grim Reaper • Brigade: • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Each player must shuffle hand into deck to draw six. • Play As: Each player must shuffle [return] hand into deck to draw six. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Isaiah 59:7 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()
Opponent has 3 SITC in my territory. I have no hand. I draw Mayhem. Can I play it and will it work? If it does, do the other 2 cards I drew originally with Mayhem go under, or do I underdeck 3 of the new 6 cards?
Thanks!
-
No. Mayhem is placed under your deck.
-
I don't see why not. SitC doesn't specify at the beginning of your upkeep phase. You can play dominants during the upkeep phase, right? So just play Mayhem before you have SitC activate.
-
You can play dominants during the upkeep phase, right?
-
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=18235.msg286393#msg286393 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=18235.msg286393#msg286393)
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=19846.msg310460#msg310460 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=19846.msg310460#msg310460)
-
Why does SitC activate at the beginning of the upkeep phase? It says during.
-
You can play dominants during the upkeep phase, right?
Based on this discussion, (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=18235.msg286834#msg286834) I think so.
-
Redemption® Rulebook > Diagram of a Turn
Overview
The following phases are performed each turn, even if nothing is actively done on a particular phase. A response is allowed between every separate phase.
How can you play abilities between phases? I would argue that responses could be played before the phase ends, but not in between phases.
I also agree that a Dom should be able to be played in any phase including draw phase. To say that an ability cannot insert itself in a phase is rediculous.
-
I find it ironic that Slugfencer was the one to start both of the threads, he must run into SitC quite a bit :D
I agree that dominants can be played during the draw phase by either player. If I am waiting for a player to draw a LS because I have 4 rescued with SoG in my hand, I can play SoG as soon as the LS is put down and its ability completes, even if my opponent has something to "upkeep."
-
i also see no reason mayhem cant be played during draw phase. in fact, many players play it immediately following their opponents draw.
-
I find it ironic that Slugfencer was the one to start both of the threads, he must run into SitC quite a bit :D
I agree that dominants can be played during the draw phase by either player. If I am waiting for a player to draw a LS because I have 4 rescued with SoG in my hand, I can play SoG as soon as the LS is put down and its ability completes, even if my opponent has something to "upkeep."
I agree as well.
-
I find it ironic that Slugfencer was the one to start both of the threads, he must run into SitC quite a bit :D
^
Truth...I blame Clift! :D
-
8)