Author Topic: Matthias  (Read 137 times)

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3178
    • -
    • East Central Region
Matthias
« on: July 09, 2019, 01:55:48 PM »
0
If I put Holy Spirit in play with Matthias, do I search for a Fruit of the Spirit immediately?  Based on how Leviathan works when he blocks, I'm thinking this might actually work?
If creation sings Your praises so will I
If You gave Your life to love them so will I

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10308
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: Matthias
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2019, 02:24:51 PM »
0
If I put Holy Spirit in play with Matthias, do I search for a Fruit of the Spirit immediately?  Based on how Leviathan works when he blocks, I'm thinking this might actually work?

I don't think so. A character can trigger itself when it enters battle the same way a Lost Soul can trigger itself when it's put in play. But THS triggers off the character entering battle. By the time Matt does his deed he's already in battle and isn't going to trigger a card that wasn't there to be triggered when the required event took place.
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2979
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Matthias
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2019, 04:52:13 PM »
0
I agree with a Gabe. There's a specific note in the rules about a card triggering itself.

Quote from: REG>Abilities>Triggered Effect
Triggered effects may be optional or mandatory. Optional triggered effects will be designated with a “may”or similar wording, while mandatory triggered effects simply describe the outcome without giving a choice. Mandatory triggered effects that are not negated persist at least until the end of the current phase, even if the card leaves play or set aside, unless otherwise specified on
the card. If the triggering event deactivates the ability without interrupting or negating it, then the triggered effect can still be activated. If the triggering event activates the ability, then the triggered effect can still be activated. Otherwise, optional triggered effects may only be activated while the card it is on is controlled by the holder and is either in play, Land of Redemption or set-aside area.