Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Noah on August 07, 2015, 02:55:01 PM
-
If I have Magic Charms on my magician and he is discarded, can I play Love to heal that magician and then not convert it because the protection from Magic Charms kicks back in?
Also, on a side note, can Love convert demons and/or angels?
Magic Charms - Protect your Magicians from capture and conversion. You may discard this card from your Magician during battle to capture up to two human Heroes.
Love - Heal and convert your character to a Hero of any brigade. Place on that Hero: While this Hero is in battle, protect characters not in battle from special abilities on evil cards, except banding.
-
Love cannot convert angels and demons because demons cannot be converted to heroes, and angels can only be converted by cards that specifically say they can convert angels.
-
I would guess that Charms doesn't protect it, since it would default to play, and the magician would be in the discard pile. Charms wouldn't be able to kick back in after, since for one, you can't retroactively protect, and also since magician isn't an identifier that stays when an EC is converted to a hero.
-
If magic charms is not negated its ability is still active through the phase even if it gets discarded, however, it doesn't sound to me like healing restores magic charms as it is nether placed or held.
-
The ability is active, but a protect ability defaults to the field of play, and the magician is no longer in play
-
Heal returns the character to play, though, and the heal has to complete before the convert can take place. I would think the magician would be healable but protected from the conversion (if during the same phase Charms was discarded).
-
Love cannot convert angels and demons because demons cannot be converted to heroes, and angels can only be converted by cards that specifically say they can convert angels.
This is correct, converts cannot target angels or demons unless they specify.
To the other question, the issue is whether the protection can insert itself between the heal and the convert. I believe it has been able to in the past, but it will be clarified that abilities cannot insert through the new REG (coming early next week). All of Love must complete before any additional effects are able to complete activating. While the protection lasts until end of phase by default, if it were not active, the protect could not start again until the character was already converted. At that point, they are also not a magician (identifier does not convert).