Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on August 24, 2010, 08:02:05 AM

Title: Magic Charms
Post by: Josh on August 24, 2010, 08:02:05 AM
1. Can I activate Magic Charms directly on to my magician and keep my active artifact active?  Or do I have to deactivate my art, activate MC, and then place it on my magician?

2. Suppose I attack with a hero and my opponent blocks with an evil character that bands to my magician with Magic Charms activated on him.  My opponent can't use the discard/capture ability on Magic Charms, since its ability says "your Magician", and your = ownership + control, right?

3. Suppose my opponent uses Seven Wicked Spirits to exchange with my magician.  Suppose my opponent has other magicians in his territory.  They would be protected via Magic Charms, right?  But the magician he stole from me wouldn't?

Magic Charms - "Protect your Magicians from capture and conversion. You may discard this card from your Magician during battle to capture up to two Heroes."

Seven Wicked Spirits - "You may interrupt all Fortresses and exchange this Evil Character with any other Evil Character in play or set-aside area."
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: sk on August 24, 2010, 08:45:49 AM
1. You have to deactivate your art, activate MC, and then place it on your magician.

2. Correct.  It has been ruled this way.

3. Sounds right to me.
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: Smokey on August 24, 2010, 09:14:07 AM
1. You have to deactivate your art, activate MC, and then place it on your magician.

2. Correct.  It has been ruled this way.

3. Sounds right to me.

I disagree with #3, Your = Ownership and Control, in an opponent's territory no one could discard it for capture, and it doesn't protect anyone.
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: sk on August 24, 2010, 09:40:13 AM
It is read from the controller's point of view.  If it tells me it protects "your" magicians, it protects all the magicians I own + control.  That would be all the magicians in my territory except the one Magic Charms is on, as that is my opponent's magician.
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: Smokey on August 24, 2010, 09:42:21 AM
It is read from the controller's point of view.  If it tells me it protects "your" magicians, it protects all the magicians I own + control.  That would be all the magicians in my territory except the one Magic Charms is on, as that is my opponent's magician.

That wasn't his question, and you bring up an interesting point. Can you still have ownership and control of something in an opponent's territory?
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: RTSmaniac on August 24, 2010, 09:55:59 AM
pg panic demon?
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: sk on August 24, 2010, 10:58:27 AM
That wasn't his question, and you bring up an interesting point. Can you still have ownership and control of something in an opponent's territory?
In my head I answered it... perhaps I just wasn't clear.

I puts Magic Charms on my magician.  It protects my magicians (the "your" refers to the magicians I own and control).  He swaps the characters, and my magician is now in his territory, so he now controls the magician and artifact.  The protect ability now refers to the magicians he owns and controls, which are all the magicians in his territory except the one Magic Charms is on, as that magician is still owned by me.

I still own the card in his territory (it's from my deck, so I will always own it), but I no longer control it.

pg panic demon?
You still own it, and I think it somehow remains in your control, but only because you placed it there.
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: Smokey on August 24, 2010, 11:02:28 AM
I think I get it now, but my brain hurts a little.

Who uses SWS anyways?
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: Alex_Olijar on August 24, 2010, 11:32:50 AM
SWS is awesome.
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: TheJaylor on August 24, 2010, 11:37:50 AM
SWS?
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: Warrior_Monk on August 24, 2010, 11:38:26 AM
Seven Wicked Spirits
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: Josh on August 24, 2010, 12:00:42 PM
It is read from the controller's point of view.  If it tells me it protects "your" magicians, it protects all the magicians I own + control.  That would be all the magicians in my territory except the one Magic Charms is on, as that is my opponent's magician.

That wasn't his question, and you bring up an interesting point. Can you still have ownership and control of something in an opponent's territory?
Actually that was my question.  And the magicians in question here are in the owner's territory, with the owner being my opponent.  If my opponent exchanges SWS for my magician holding Magic Charms, and he has his own magicians in his own territory, then all of his magicians are "his" by ownership and control.  And that is why I think they would be protected via Magic Charms.  The only one that wouldn't be protected would be the magician actually holding Magic Charms...  Ironic  :)
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: TheJaylor on August 24, 2010, 12:13:54 PM
Seven Wicked Spirits
i knowed dat...maybe
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: SirNobody on August 24, 2010, 12:23:00 PM
Hey,

1) No you do not have to deactivate the artifact on your artifact pile to activate Magic Charms on your Magician.

2) Banding to your magician that has Magic Charms on him does not allow your opponent to use your Magic Charms.

3) Stealing a magician holding Magic Charms with Seven Wicked Spirits does not give your opponent's magicians protection from capture and conversion.

Placed cards are controlled by the player that placed them regardless of where on the playing surface they are.  (Artifacts activated by an activate an artifact ability like the one on magic charms are considered placed cards.)

Taking control of a magician that is holding Magic Charms (permanently or temporarily) does not take control of Magic Charms.  If you band to my magician or steal it with Seven Wicked Spirits, you control the magician, but I still control the Magic Charms that is on him.  Magic Charms still protects my magicians and I can still discard Magic Charms to capture humans during battle.  But if I don't regain control of the magician Magic Charms is on by my next prep phase then I cannot reactivate Magic Charms on the same magician; I either have to activate it on a different magician or deactivate it.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 24, 2010, 12:57:08 PM
Contest: artifacts deactivating and reactivating is a highly contested "ruling" and none of the elders/PTB other than Nobody have confirmed it. A lot of reasons why that isn't/shouldn't be how artifact activation works are still unanswered, and the silence by all the PTB other than the most controversial and often-wrong one is suspicious.

Also, you cannot still Discard Magic Charms to capture during battle because the exchanged Magician is no longer "your" magician. Other than that, Nobody's clarifications are correct.
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: Warrior_Monk on August 24, 2010, 01:02:40 PM
Contest: artifacts deactivating and reactivating is a highly contested "ruling" and none of the elders/PTB other than Nobody have confirmed it. A lot of reasons why that isn't/shouldn't be how artifact activation works are still unanswered, and the silence by all the PTB other than the most controversial and often-wrong one is suspicious.
I agree with Nobody's answer for 1. it's in the identifier line, thus making it so that you don't have to activate it to take affect.
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 24, 2010, 01:07:31 PM
Actually, if that's the case then you agree with me on that ruling.
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: Warrior_Monk on August 24, 2010, 01:11:14 PM
Actually, if that's the case then you agree with me on that ruling.
1) No you do not have to deactivate the artifact on your artifact pile to activate Magic Charms on your Magician.
Contest: artifacts deactivating and reactivating is a highly contested "ruling" and none of the elders/PTB other than Nobody have confirmed it. A lot of reasons why that isn't/shouldn't be how artifact activation works are still unanswered, and the silence by all the PTB other than the most controversial and often-wrong one is suspicious.
I'm confused.
Title: Re: Magic Charms
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 24, 2010, 04:14:38 PM
Yes, you are. I was disagreeing with his assertion that artifacts deactivate and reactivate every turn, rather than just being able to stay active. I'm not saying that you can't activate Lucky Charms directly onto a Magician.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal