Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: RTSmaniac on July 23, 2009, 03:39:03 PM

Title: Madness
Post by: RTSmaniac on July 23, 2009, 03:39:03 PM
Madness
Type: Curse • Brigade: Orange • Ability: 1 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: If opponent’s Hero is in battle, you may convert this card to an orange brigade Evil Character and add it to battle. Cannot be interrupted. • Identifiers: Generic OT Genderless (not Human, not Demon) • Verse: Deuteronomy 28:28 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Uncommon)

Against Garden Tomb due to the wording on madness if i have only one orange character out can i convert madness to a character and then block with it?

Title: Re: Madness
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on July 23, 2009, 03:46:59 PM
I say because the convert happens before the place that yes you can. But I can also see the other side of the argument.
Title: Re: Madness
Post by: Professoralstad on July 23, 2009, 03:53:26 PM
Madness is first converted, then when you want to add it to battle, there are two Orange EC's, so TGT doesn't stop you. However, you can't convert Madness and then block with your other Orange EC (even though there are now two Orange EC's), as Madness' ability must complete (add to battle).
Title: Re: Madness
Post by: BubbleBoy on July 23, 2009, 04:42:31 PM
Since it says you may convert it and add it to the battle, doesn't that mean 1) you may convert it and 2) you may add it to the battle? So can you decide to just convert it and put it in your territory instead and then block with your other guy?
Title: Re: Madness
Post by: FresnoRedemption on July 23, 2009, 04:48:17 PM
It seems to me that converting Madness and adding it to the battle are part of the same ability, so you may convert it to add it to the battle or you may not. But I do seem to recall that there was a ruling that if the word "may" is part of the ability, then each part of the ability is a choice and you're not necessarily forced to do both. I guess we'll wait for official word.
Title: Re: Madness
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on July 23, 2009, 04:52:53 PM
For example, if you play reach, you can ITB and play without drawing.  However, I'm not sure about this one.  The "may" may refer to the ability to use the artifact at any time. 
Title: Re: Madness
Post by: SirNobody on July 23, 2009, 04:57:11 PM
Hey,

Since it says you may convert it and add it to the battle, doesn't that mean 1) you may convert it and 2) you may add it to the battle? So can you decide to just convert it and put it in your territory instead and then block with your other guy?

Sounds good to me.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Madness
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on July 23, 2009, 05:03:02 PM
Also, a converted Madness doesnt die after one turn correct?

Finally, if you have no EC's left, could you add madness into battle? He adds himself to battle by SA, not game rule (defender presenting an EC).
Title: Re: Madness
Post by: Professoralstad on July 23, 2009, 06:26:37 PM
Also, a converted Madness doesnt die after one turn correct?


Correct. A converted character does not revert to it's original state unless the converting card says so, so since Madness says nothing about 'for one turn' then it behaves like a normal EC if it survives the battle.
Title: Re: Madness
Post by: Minister Polarius on July 24, 2009, 01:15:50 AM
Finally, if you have no EC's left, could you add madness into battle? He adds himself to battle by SA, not game rule (defender presenting an EC).
Yes, he's an effective counter to AoCP or AotL (or their ilk).
Title: Re: Madness
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on July 24, 2009, 01:33:46 AM
I meant if TGT was being used.
Title: Re: Madness
Post by: Minister Polarius on July 24, 2009, 01:35:28 AM
Because of the way the convert comes before the block part of the SA, I'd say no. You couldn't add someone with one Brigade to battle via a banding SA, so I don't see why this "add to battle" SA would be any different.
Title: Re: Madness
Post by: sk on July 24, 2009, 02:28:43 AM
He gets converted, resulting in him entering play as a character, then gets added to battle.  I agree w/ the Professor that he is in play prior to being added, thus getting by TGT.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal