Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Ironisaac on April 09, 2016, 10:33:08 AM

Title: Love
Post by: Ironisaac on April 09, 2016, 10:33:08 AM
If i put a fruit of the spirit on a character, and then use love to change that character to a different brigade, would said fruit of the spirit enhancement enhancement stay on him?
Title: Re: Love
Post by: Gabe on April 09, 2016, 11:23:18 AM
If i put a fruit of the spirit on a character, and then use love to change that character to a different brigade, would said fruit of the spirit enhancement enhancement stay on him?

I'd want to see the wording of the FotS in question but most likely, yes, it will stay. It's probably that it won't work any more though.

Placed Enhancements rely on a certain condition to be true for the effect after the ":" to work.

I'll use Faithfulness as an example.

Quote
Place on your clay or purple Hero: Protect Hero from withdraw, underdeck, conversion, side battles and capture.

In order for the protection to work it has to remain placed on a clay or purple Hero. If that Hero is is no longer clay or purple then the protection ceases even though Faithfulness remains.
Title: Re: Love
Post by: Ironisaac on April 09, 2016, 11:30:35 AM
hmm, ok thanks! the fots i was using was joy on zerubbable and i wanted to make him teal.
Title: Re: Love
Post by: Josh on April 09, 2016, 06:59:07 PM
In the Faithfulness example, the Hero being Purple or Clay is only a requirement for the "Place" ability:  You can only place Faithfulness on a Clay or Purple hero.  Everything after the colon is the ongoing effect while Faithfulness remains placed.  In this case, "Protect Hero from withdraw, underdeck, conversion, side battles and capture" only has one requirement:  That the character be a hero.

There was a thread several years ago about what happens to an evil king with Large Tree placed on him, if the king gets converted.  It was ruled that the king continues to gain 1/1 per turn and cannot be ignored, as the ongoing condition for Large Tree only says "...that king...". 

And I just found the thread:  http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/converted-stick-figure/msg339457/#msg339457 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/converted-stick-figure/msg339457/#msg339457)
Title: Re: Love
Post by: Redoubter on April 09, 2016, 08:44:07 PM
In the Faithfulness example, the Hero being Purple or Clay is only a requirement for the "Place" ability:  You can only place Faithfulness on a Clay or Purple hero.  Everything after the colon is the ongoing effect while Faithfulness remains placed.  In this case, "Protect Hero from withdraw, underdeck, conversion, side battles and capture" only has one requirement:  That the character be a hero.

There was a thread several years ago about what happens to an evil king with Large Tree placed on him, if the king gets converted.  It was ruled that the king continues to gain 1/1 per turn and cannot be ignored, as the ongoing condition for Large Tree only says "...that king...". 

And I just found the thread:  http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/converted-stick-figure/msg339457/#msg339457 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/converted-stick-figure/msg339457/#msg339457)

That is a very old thread, but the current ruling (to my knowledge, and echoing what Gabe gave earlier) is that the original condition for the "place" is required for the ongoing ability.

Quote from: REG 3.0.0 > Place > Clarifications
A colon ( : ) following a place ability is interpreted as "while this card remains placed in its original location."

The current understanding is that "original location" includes the entire definition of that original location.  In this instance, that is a Clay or Purple Hero.  If it is not placed on a Clay or Purple Hero any longer (due to a convert, for instance), that ability after the colon does not work anymore.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal