Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on April 23, 2018, 04:04:49 PM

Title: Lingering in Sodom
Post by: Crashfach2002 on April 23, 2018, 04:04:49 PM
So I was looking this card over and wanted to know if it is a "do x to do y" kind of thing or "do as much as you can" thing.

Lingering in Sodom:  You may play a City from deck.  If played in battle, capture opponent's character of opposite alignment to an unoccupied Genesis Site.  Cannot be prevented.

So the question is on the "in battle" part.  Say neither player has a Genesis Site, or any they do is already occupied.  Does that mean you don't get to capture the character?  If it is a "do as much as you can," you still get to capture, but I'm not sure you can based on the wording.
Title: Re: Lingering in Sodom
Post by: NathanW on April 23, 2018, 04:23:09 PM
I'm pretty sure there has to be both a character of opposite alignment and a site to target in order for the ability to even work. (I don't know where to reference the REG in this situation)
Title: Re: Lingering in Sodom
Post by: RedemptionAggie on April 23, 2018, 04:26:46 PM
I'm pretty sure there has to be both a character of opposite alignment and a site to target in order for the ability to even work. (I don't know where to reference the REG in this situation)
That's the answer I got when I asked the question. I'm not sure it's in the REG - and if it needs to go in, I don't know where it goes.
Title: Re: Lingering in Sodom
Post by: Crashfach2002 on April 23, 2018, 04:50:57 PM
Thanks guys, that is how I thought it worked too.  Just good to verify!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal