Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: LordZardeck on February 05, 2011, 08:24:51 PM

Title: Lasting Effects
Post by: LordZardeck on February 05, 2011, 08:24:51 PM
Does discarding a card negate it's effect? what about interrupt and discard?
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: SomeKittens on February 05, 2011, 10:04:15 PM
No, and yes
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Professoralstad on February 06, 2011, 12:29:22 PM
No, and yes

Kittens is correct.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on February 06, 2011, 01:19:07 PM
Recently, there are cards that DO become canceled out when discarded:

Magicians Snakes, Peters Curse, etc... all the cards that only work while in a specific location.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 07, 2011, 12:17:52 AM
The question was about negation. Those cards still aren't Negated if they're Discarded, they simply stop working.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on February 07, 2011, 12:51:54 AM
I know, just saying there are some cards where discarding it does stop its ability.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: LordZardeck on February 07, 2011, 03:15:28 AM
The question was about negation. Those cards still aren't Negated if they're Discarded, they simply stop working.

Actually, the question did kinda entail both. I wanted to know whether they stopped working, and if under technical terms, if they were negated.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 07, 2011, 03:56:26 AM
Just Discarding a card never Negates it.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Master_Chi on February 07, 2011, 11:29:02 AM
Just Discarding a card never Negates it.

But interrupting and discarding a card DOES "negate" it...?
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Prof Underwood on February 07, 2011, 12:19:51 PM
Just Discarding a card never Negates it.
But interrupting and discarding a card DOES "negate" it...?
No, interrupting a card does NOT negate it.  It only pauses it while you do something else.  If your "something else" doesn't get rid of the cause of your problem (ie. discarding the character that played the enhancement), then after your interrupt finishes, the original special ability will still happen.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: LordZardeck on February 07, 2011, 01:37:49 PM
so if my opponent interrupts the battle and discards a card I played to have immunity, I still have the immunity?
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Carl deuty on February 07, 2011, 01:45:05 PM
if you played a cardd that gave you immunity and then it was interrupted and discarded, you no longer have the immunity
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: The Schaef on February 07, 2011, 01:53:37 PM
If you interrupt the effect of a card and then remove the card, there is no card left to take effect after the interrupt ends.

You can interrupt an Enhancement and remove it from play, canceling its effect, or you can interrupt the battle, remove the character under it from play, and if there is no character left that can legally use the card, it cannot take effect after the interrupt ends, so that also cancels its effect.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: LordZardeck on February 07, 2011, 02:29:12 PM
So I'm confused. Is the professor wrong?
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 07, 2011, 08:38:16 PM
No, he was right, although his thoroughness perhaps came at the cost of clarity. He's saying the same thing as everyone else.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: LordZardeck on February 07, 2011, 10:17:39 PM
Oh, ok. thanks everyone!
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: LordZardeck on February 22, 2011, 01:30:42 AM
Okay, what about intterupting and discarding a card that negated another card after a card has been played after it? (Talking about playing devourer after i play my second enhancement). Is my negate no longer working?
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: SomeKittens on February 22, 2011, 01:49:09 AM
Yes, as negate is ongoing.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Master_Chi on February 22, 2011, 01:51:11 AM
Yes, as negate is ongoing.

Even though the Negate card is being Interrupted and Discarded?
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Korunks on February 22, 2011, 08:51:01 AM
Yes, as negate is ongoing.

This I am not sure about.  Unless a card is trying to make the battle FBTN it doesn't make much sense for it to be a continuous action.  If it is a "one time" negate (ie. it is not trying to prevent cards that come after it) I would rule it as an instant ability.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Master_Chi on February 22, 2011, 09:03:39 AM
Alright, to clear things up, this is what went down:

My opponent (LordZardeck) RA's with Angel w/ the Secret Name. I block with Fallen Warrior who has Philly Chariot/Horses equipped. I ITB, draw 2, and play Pride of Simon. I use Pride to play Wrath of Satan from d/c pile, and I all SA's are now resolved. LordZardeck plays Flaming Sword to negate PC/H and then plays Spiritual Beings to become immune to me.

His question: Is me playing Devourer (WA) to interrupt/discard all good enhancements and allow my Wrath to discard all Heroes in play a legal move?
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: The M on February 22, 2011, 09:51:45 AM
Yes it would.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Professoralstad on February 22, 2011, 11:25:30 AM
Alright, to clear things up, this is what went down:

My opponent (LordZardeck) RA's with Angel w/ the Secret Name. I block with Fallen Warrior who has Philly Chariot/Horses equipped. I ITB, draw 2, and play Pride of Simon. I use Pride to play Wrath of Satan from d/c pile, and I all SA's are now resolved. LordZardeck plays Flaming Sword to negate PC/H and then plays Spiritual Beings to become immune to me.

His question: Is me playing Devourer (WA) to interrupt/discard all good enhancements and allow my Wrath to discard all Heroes in play a legal move?

In this situation, Flaming Sword can't target PC/H, since Wrath is the one doing the discarding. The ability to play a card cannot be interrupted, so the play abilities on both PC/H and Pride of Simon are inherently cannot be interrupted. Which means in order to stop Wrath of Satan from discarding all of the Heroes (including Angel) Flaming Sword must target that.

Now, assuming after Flaming Sword is played that the Hero still has initiative by the numbers (which is what I assume was true) he can play Spiritual Beings. Then initiative passes to Fallen Warrior, Devourer interrupts and discards Flaming Sword and Spiritual Beings, again targeting all Heroes for Discard. At this point, the Hero could either interrupt the battle, or play something to negate Devourer (which would allow FS to kick back in).
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 22, 2011, 08:07:23 PM
Is Pride of Simon CBI? Can't Search abilities be Negated?
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Professoralstad on February 23, 2011, 09:18:01 AM
Is Pride of Simon CBI? Can't Search abilities be Negated?

The search ability could be, except that the ability is Search and Play. Since Play abilities are CBI, I would have to assume that negating the Search wouldn't stop the enhancement from being played.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 23, 2011, 10:44:12 AM
I've always thought that if you negate the ability that gave you the card played by a play ability, the card is indirectly negated and goes back unless it's CBI itself in which case it sticks to the table (i.e. playing MLaMG off Reach, if Reach gets Negated MLaG gets Negated and sent back to top 3).
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on February 23, 2011, 10:55:38 AM
+1

Gabe, Kevin and I had a big discussion about that in California, and I'm pretty sure we came to the same conclusion.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: SomeKittens on February 23, 2011, 04:44:48 PM
Yet another ruling induced headache....

I thought that the playing of a card couldn't be undone.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Noah on February 23, 2011, 05:18:24 PM
Yet another ruling induced headache....

I thought that the playing of a card couldn't be undone.

 +1
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: galadgawyn on February 24, 2011, 12:21:52 AM
I'm not sure who RDT is agreeing with. 

I thought that just like CBN, CBI couldn't be undone even indirectly.  I have seen it played and ruled that you can play Foolish Pride? (BBTN) off of Pride of Simon and it sticks.  The searching or drawing can be negated but if the card was played then it sticks.
Title: Re: Lasting Effects
Post by: Master_Chi on February 24, 2011, 09:08:44 AM
I'm not sure who RDT is agreeing with. 

I thought that just like CBN, CBI couldn't be undone even indirectly.  I have seen it played and ruled that you can play Foolish Pride? (BBTN) off of Pride of Simon and it sticks.  The searching or drawing can be negated but if the card was played then it sticks.

I believe you are thinking of Foolish Advice.

I still am not clear on what should go down....
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal