Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Minister Polarius on August 10, 2009, 05:03:37 AM

Title: KotW and Placing
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 10, 2009, 05:03:37 AM
Can I place a card of matching alignment on a character in Kingdoms of this World or is that "effecting" it?
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: TimMierz on August 10, 2009, 08:42:49 AM
It is "affecting" it; REG, Ongoing Abilities > Miscellaneous > Special Conditions:

You cannot play weapons on characters that are protected from effect (e.g., Goshen or Kingdoms of the World).  This is because gaining a weapon is an “effect” (contrast this to playing a Restore Life, Heal, or Release or Set-Aside card on a character in a fortress and directing the effect to a character in play).
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 10, 2009, 02:33:05 PM
I know that, but I'm asking about Place cards like Large Tree.
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: TimMierz on August 10, 2009, 02:34:53 PM
I don't see how that'd be any different; if "gaining a weapon is an 'effect,'" then why wouldn't "gaining a placed enhancement" be one too? Furthermore, if that were allowed, so would be placing, say, Palsy on a Hero in Goshen, which seems ridiculous to me.
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: frisian9 on August 10, 2009, 05:10:51 PM
Tim is correct. You cannot place cards on characters in Goshen or KotW.

Mike
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: Gabe on October 20, 2009, 05:35:49 PM
But you can use a Character in KotW or Goshen to play a territory class Enhancement, provided it doesn't target the protected Character, correct?

For example, my Pharisee is in KotW.  Can play Pretention on him to target my opponent's Hero?
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: Isildur on October 20, 2009, 07:28:49 PM
But you can use a Character in KotW or Goshen to play a territory class Enhancement, provided it doesn't target the protected Character, correct?

For example, my Pharisee is in KotW.  Can play Pretention on him to target my opponent's Hero?
I dont think so since Kotw and Goshen are in Set Aside right?
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: BubbleBoy on October 20, 2009, 07:29:44 PM
But you can use a Character in KotW or Goshen to play a territory class Enhancement, provided it doesn't target the protected Character, correct?

For example, my Pharisee is in KotW.  Can play Pretention on him to target my opponent's Hero?
I dont think so since Kotw and Goshen are in Set Aside right?
:scratch:
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: Isildur on October 20, 2009, 08:07:47 PM
But you can use a Character in KotW or Goshen to play a territory class Enhancement, provided it doesn't target the protected Character, correct?

For example, my Pharisee is in KotW.  Can play Pretention on him to target my opponent's Hero?
I dont think so since Kotw and Goshen are in Set Aside right?
:scratch:
???
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: Master KChief on October 20, 2009, 08:11:57 PM
i dont believe they're in set-aside.
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: Gabe on October 20, 2009, 11:12:56 PM
They aren't set aside.  They're both in play, as are the characters held in them.
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on October 20, 2009, 11:41:04 PM
Even though they are in play, are they in your territory for you to play them on?
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: Isildur on October 21, 2009, 12:02:23 AM
Even though they are in play, are they in your territory for you to play them on?
+ 1

Territory Class Enhans. would be played as the same as Set Aside cards in that sense when finding "colors". So could you do the same thing for Set aside cards with Kotw or Goshen?
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: Gabe on October 21, 2009, 12:14:56 AM
Territory Class Enhans. would be played as the same as Set Aside cards in that sense when finding "colors". So could you do the same thing for Set aside cards with Kotw or Goshen?

It is "affecting" it; REG, Ongoing Abilities > Miscellaneous > Special Conditions:

You cannot play weapons on characters that are protected from effect (e.g., Goshen or Kingdoms of the World).  This is because gaining a weapon is an “effect” (contrast this to playing a Restore Life, Heal, or Release or Set-Aside card on a character in a fortress and directing the effect to a character in play).

KotW and Goshen are in play.  Their contents (Characters held in the Fortress) are in play.  According to the bolded part of Tim's conclusion, I believe you could activate a set-aside Enhancement on a character in the Fortress as along as you are targeting a Character outside the Fortress with the Enhancement's ability.

The same holds true for Territory Class Enhancements.  I'd just like someone official to confirm that so I know I'm playing it correctly.  There's not much I dislike more than to find out I've been playing something wrong and therefore "cheating" my opponents.  It just feels dirty.
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on October 21, 2009, 11:27:43 PM
That is what I was thinking at first. But I wasn't sure  :P
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: SirNobody on October 28, 2009, 05:21:57 AM
Hey,

But you can use a Character in KotW or Goshen to play a territory class Enhancement, provided it doesn't target the protected Character, correct?

For example, my Pharisee is in KotW.  Can play Pretention on him to target my opponent's Hero?

You can play Set aside enhancements, healing enhancements, and now territory class enhancements on characters in Goshen or Kingdoms.  You just have to direct the effect of the enhancements at someone not in Goshen or Kingdoms.

Pretension cannot set aside an opponent's hero if played outside of battle.  Only set asides played in battle can set aside your opponent's characters.  (There was some debate on this topic amongst the playtesters at nationals so the rule may change at some point down the road, but it hasn't been changed yet.)

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: Prof Underwood on October 28, 2009, 09:04:13 AM
You can play Set aside enhancements, healing enhancements, and now territory class enhancements on characters in Goshen or Kingdoms.
For consistency, you should also be able to play WC enhs on characters in Goshen or Kingdoms.
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: SirNobody on October 28, 2009, 12:30:26 PM
Hey,

You can play Set aside enhancements, healing enhancements, and now territory class enhancements on characters in Goshen or Kingdoms.
For consistency, you should also be able to play WC enhs on characters in Goshen or Kingdoms.

You don't play Weapon Class enhancements on character in your territory you place them.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: KotW and Placing
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on October 28, 2009, 04:57:21 PM
If you have a WC in KotW or Goshen and the enhancements have to affect the other people not in there, how would the weapon enhancement stick? You just confused me Tim.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal