Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: redemptioncousin on May 20, 2010, 12:11:47 AM

Title: KoT vs. Abomination of Desolation
Post by: redemptioncousin on May 20, 2010, 12:11:47 AM
If KoT enters battle does he negate Abomination (or any placed enhancement for that matter) for the battle phase??? 
Title: Re: KoT vs. Abomination of Desolation
Post by: Minister Polarius on May 20, 2010, 12:14:50 AM
Not in battle, not Negated.
Title: Re: KoT vs. Abomination of Desolation
Post by: redemptioncousin on May 20, 2010, 12:18:58 AM
Even though KoT doesn't specify "in battle"?

I thought all abilities defaulted to in play...
Title: Re: KoT vs. Abomination of Desolation
Post by: Minister Polarius on May 20, 2010, 12:20:43 AM
They all have play as to say in battle.
Title: Re: KoT vs. Abomination of Desolation
Post by: redemptioncousin on May 20, 2010, 12:29:23 AM
ah thanks
Title: Re: KoT vs. Abomination of Desolation
Post by: SirNobody on May 21, 2010, 01:18:39 PM
Hey,

King of Tyrus defaults to "in play" not to "in battle" but the rule that "abilities can only be negated or interrupted during the phase in which they are played" means that most placed enhancements are not negated by King of Tyrus because they were played in a previous phase.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: KoT vs. Abomination of Desolation
Post by: redemptioncousin on May 21, 2010, 06:01:42 PM
That doesn't make sense.  If you use Covenant w/ Noah on Abomination of Desolation after the phase it was placed, it would negate AoD for that phase.  Now, would KoT do the same???

Example:

RA Thankful Leper w/ less than 10 cards in opponent's deck.  Block with KoT.  I play Meeting the Messiah on a character in his territory, so he has to draw 2 cards.  Does abomination activate???
Title: Re: KoT vs. Abomination of Desolation
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 21, 2010, 06:16:23 PM
RA Thankful Leper w/ less than 10 cards in opponent's deck.  Block with KoT.  I play Meeting the Messiah on a character in his territory, so he has to draw 2 cards.  Does abomination activate???
I think no. Mainly because it isn't even in his territory, but...::)

Seriously though, I'm pretty sure the rule was that the placing of a place card could not be negated in phases after the one in which it was played, but the rest of it could.
Title: Re: KoT vs. Abomination of Desolation
Post by: redemptioncousin on May 21, 2010, 11:36:59 PM
Right... so the question is, does KoT negate it for a phase???  Tim seems to think so and I honestly have no idea.  My inclination would be no, but that's why I'm asking.
Title: Re: KoT vs. Abomination of Desolation
Post by: DaClock on May 22, 2010, 11:53:29 PM
Tim was simply saying that if you placed Abom during battle, then for some reason banded in KOT then it would be negated. After that phase it can't be negated.
Title: Re: KoT vs. Abomination of Desolation
Post by: redemptioncousin on May 23, 2010, 12:51:12 AM
But it CAN (for a phase) be negated.  ie Cov of Noah ruling.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal