Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on May 02, 2012, 01:08:46 PM

Title: Kingdoms of the World
Post by: Josh on May 02, 2012, 01:08:46 PM
Does Iron Pan negate Kingdoms of the World?  KotW's ability says "protect", but its Play As says that players are restricted from using CtB abilities. 

Iron Pan (FF2)

Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: If a Babylonian is in play, negate all protect, immune, ignore, draw, and play abilities. Opponent may discard a good Fortress from territory to discard this card.

Kingdoms of the World (Pi)

Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Evil Characters here are protected from effect, and may be removed during holder’s preparation phase only. While an Evil Character is here, protect holder from being forced to block with another player’s character. • Play As: Protect contents from harm or effect. Place or return Evil Characters during your Preparation Phase. While an Evil Character is here, restrict opponents from using choose the blocker abilities. Kingdoms of the World may hold up to 3 of your Evil Characters.
Title: Re: Kingdoms of the World
Post by: Redoubter on May 02, 2012, 01:15:10 PM
I am almost certain that this is a case of a Play-As actually interpreting a card correctly.  Because the protect targets players, it actually becomes a restrict.  The Play-As updates the wording on the card appropriately.  It should be treated like a restrict for the second ability.

So yes, Iron Pan should negate the protect on KoTW for the characters inside, but it cannot negate the restrict on CTB abilities.

I would argue, however, that it should only extend to abilities that target the holder of KoTW, as the Play-As wording would currently restrict all CTB abilities in multi, regardless of who the rescue goes against, and that does change the wording on the card.
Title: Re: Kingdoms of the World
Post by: Professoralstad on May 02, 2012, 01:17:45 PM
The Play As is correct in that it is a restrict, but it is not correct in its application. KotW should not stop your opponents from using CtB's that choose the KotW owner's EC's, nor should it stop 2 other players in a multi game (where the KotW owner is a third player) from using CtB abilities vs. each other.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal