Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master KChief on October 29, 2009, 04:54:01 PM
-
if i block with king hazael, can my opponent discard any artifact in his artifact pile, or do only active artifacts qualify?
King Hazael
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 8 / 11 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: You may discard a gray brigade enhancement from hand to discard an O.T. Fortress or occupied Site. Opponent may discard one of his Artifacts instead.
-
Since Hazael is technically having to target the artifact, it has to be in play. Artifacts in hand/pile aren't in play so they're unavailable to meet the target.
-
Only an active artifact can be discarded. Because the card does not specify, it defaults to in play. Face down artifacts are not in play. To be able to discard a face down art, Hazael would have to specially specify the artifact pile.
The "one of his" makes it sound like it is meant to be able to d/c any. Or it is just covering for temples...
-
The "one of his" wasn't meant to emphasize the one, but to emphasize the his. I agree that only active artifacts qualify, unless there's some weird way for an artifact to be face-up without being active.
-
So, would King Hazael be totally epic against a female player? Only "he" can discard an artifact instead.
-
So, would King Hazael be totally epic against a female player? Only "he" can discard an artifact instead.
yes.
-
So, would King Hazael be totally epic against a female player? Only "he" can discard an artifact instead.
You best be wary...my sister does check the boards once in awhile and she wouldn't be happy to hear that argument... :P
-
Any means Any means Any, except when it doesn't.
Likewise, He means He means He, except when He's a She.
-
So, would King Hazael be totally epic against a female player? Only "he" can discard an artifact instead.
You best be wary...my sister does check the boards once in awhile and she wouldn't be happy to hear that argument... :P
LOL. I just happened to notice the card said "his" and realized not many cards say that. Now I'm curious how many actually do use he or his in the SA...
*EDIT*
Here is what I've found:
Grapes of Wrath
Land Dispute
Stronghold in the Desert
Deceptive Sin
Pagan Sacrifices
Joel Son of Samuel
Sin in the Camp
The Body of Christ
Witness to Creation
Courage
Disuading Speech
Provisions
Soloman Dedicates Temple
Queen Maachah
Wastelands
Obediance of Noah
Search
Lay down your life
Commissioned
Revealer soul
The Pit
Harvest Time
Astrologers
Axe
The Lord Fights for You
Pleading for the City
King Hazael
The Thankful Leper
Zalmon
False Dreams
False Peace
Lies
The Vineyard
Yoke of Iron
King Soloman promo
Boasting of Strength
Set Fire
Thats more than I thought. o_O
-
*STOP. ENGLISH LESSON TIME*
In modern English, use of the word "his" is acceptable both when the gender of the person in question is known to be Male and when it is unknown.
-
We have one card that works differently based on the gender of a player though... :P
Still, it just seems wierd to me.
"Who's deck looses the top card again?"
*points to a girl* "His! It says so on the card!"
-
And to confuse matters further, "Gender" is a Redemption term that means something different than what the Dictionary says it does.
-
*STOP. ENGLISH LESSON TIME*
In modern English, use of the word "his" is acceptable both when the gender of the person in question is known to be Male and when it is unknown.
I thought that was old English. I've always been told to use "his or her" no matter how awkward it makes things. There's an entire department here at the University that would probably burn you at the stake for saying that. Although, the Gender and Women's Studies department would probably burn any guy at any stake they could find. I once had to go into their computer lab for a test...I felt as if I was intruding or something.
-
*STOP. ENGLISH LESSON TIME*
In modern English, use of the word "his" is acceptable both when the gender of the person in question is known to be Male and when it is unknown.
I thought that was old English. I've always been told to use "his or her" no matter how awkward it makes things. There's an entire department here at the University that would probably burn you at the stake for saying that. Although, the Gender and Women's Studies department would probably burn any guy at any stake they could find. I once had to go into their computer lab for a test...I felt as if I was intruding or something.
-cough- I'm doubling in Gender Studies. watch yourself, Prof. ;)
-
Hey,
In modern English, use of the word "his" is acceptable both when the gender of the person in question is known to be Male and when it is unknown.
The playtesters utilize this rule when wording cards so as to avoid using "him or her" and allowing us to keep abilities shorter. "He" when it appears on Redemption cards is gender neutral. If an ability is gender specific it will use "male" or "female."
I've always been told to use "his or her" no matter how awkward it makes things. There's an entire department here at the University that would probably burn you at the stake for saying that. Although, the Gender and Women's Studies department would probably burn any guy at any stake they could find. I once had to go into their computer lab for a test...I felt as if I was intruding or something.
I do find it horribly ironic that most feminists are actually chauvinists. But that's neither here nor there.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
And to confuse matters further, "Gender" is a Redemption term that means something different than what the Dictionary says it does.
*nods* i once asked here if i could wear a dress and claim saint of virtue to be a female. i was ruled against. :(
-
I said modern English, not politically correct English.
-
Since Hazael is technically having to target the artifact, it has to be in play. Artifacts in hand/pile aren't in play so they're unavailable to meet the target.
I disagree that Hazael is targetting the artifact. I seem to recall other situations like this where it was ruled that an "opponent may choose something" is not the same as "targetting."
Of course, I may be confusing a different wording, but I know I've seen something like this before and it was ruled differently than it has been here.
-
No, because Dove does not allow the player to Discard an Immune character from battle.