Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master_Chi on February 22, 2011, 12:58:30 AM

Title: King Evil-Merodach
Post by: Master_Chi on February 22, 2011, 12:58:30 AM
Protect all human EC's in your territory from opponent's cards.

Does this SA still work if Merodach is converted to a Hero?
Title: Re: King Evil-Merodach
Post by: SomeKittens on February 22, 2011, 01:09:27 AM
Yes, because it doesn't harm a hero.
Title: Re: King Evil-Merodach
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 22, 2011, 01:19:44 AM
Yes, because it doesn't harm target a hero.
Fixed. A very common, subtle mistake that ends up unnecessarily creating 10 page threads.
Title: Re: King Evil-Merodach
Post by: SomeKittens on February 22, 2011, 01:47:10 AM
Gabe says harm:
The rule for converting evil to good is that the SA doesn't convert if directly harms a Hero.

In fact:
Heroes always lose their SA when convert. Evil Characters lose any special abilities that specifically target harm Heroes. Same with weapons. Any character with a non-converted SA is still considered to have an SA, just an inactive one.
Title: Re: King Evil-Merodach
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 22, 2011, 02:06:23 AM
Not saying I've never made the mistake. The difference is slight and should be semantic, since if an EC is targeting a Hero that's harm, but then you have trolls coming in and arguing for pages and pages that Heroes can never harm Heroes so all Evil Characters' abilities convert.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal