Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Alex_Olijar on June 23, 2011, 10:08:25 PM

Title: King Amon (Ki)
Post by: Alex_Olijar on June 23, 2011, 10:08:25 PM
King Amon (Ki)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 3 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: If Manasseh is in your discard pile, search discard pile for one evil enhancement with an O.T. reference. • Play As: If Manasseh is in your discard pile, search discard pile for one evil enhancement with an O.T. reference and put in hand. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, King (Judah), Royalty, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: II Kings 21:23-24 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Uncommon)

I'm assuming he only recurs if Manasseh (black brigade) is in the discard pile, NOT King Manasseh (brown/pale green)

Can I have a King Manasseh and Manasseh in the same deck (since one of them has no SA) of 99 cards or less? *T1 Obviously.
Title: Re: King Amon (Ki)
Post by: Josh on June 23, 2011, 10:47:56 PM
King Amon (K) recurs if either Manasseh or King Manasseh is in the discard pile, since he refers to the person Manasseh.  King Amon (Di) only works if King Manasseh is in the discard pile, because having "King" in the text makes it more specific...  Or something like that.

I think you can put both in a T1 deck less than 100 cards...  I've done it before actually, so hopefully I wasn't cheating.
Title: Re: King Amon (Ki)
Post by: SomeKittens on June 23, 2011, 11:12:16 PM
King Amon (K) recurs if either Manasseh or King Manasseh is in the discard pile, since he refers to the person Manasseh.  King Amon (Di) only works if King Manasseh is in the discard pile, because having "King" in the text makes it more specific...  Or something like that.

I think you can put both in a T1 deck less than 100 cards...  I've done it before actually, so hopefully I wasn't cheating.
Yes, you can.
Title: Re: King Amon (Ki)
Post by: Professoralstad on June 23, 2011, 11:39:43 PM
jmhartz is correct. It's similar to Promised Land and Prince Jonathan. Prince Jonathan says "May band to David" which allows him to band to David, David, David, David or King David. Promised Land says King David, so David wouldn't get to use it without limit, only King David can.

I have never been too clear on the rules for multiple unique characters where one copy is no SA, but I think it's legal.
Title: Re: King Amon (Ki)
Post by: SomeKittens on June 24, 2011, 12:04:34 AM
Different art, different name, different SA, different brigade.  Looks legal to me.
Title: Re: King Amon (Ki)
Post by: Alex_Olijar on June 24, 2011, 12:13:24 AM
Its the same art.
Title: Re: King Amon (Ki)
Post by: SomeKittens on June 24, 2011, 12:19:19 AM
Woah, you're right!  I thought it was a completely different card in Prophets.  Now I'm going to spend the rest of the night trying to think of who I was thinking of....
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal