Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Arch Angel on August 12, 2009, 07:27:17 PM

Title: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: Arch Angel on August 12, 2009, 07:27:17 PM
Kerith Ravine
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set this Fortress aside. Holder may put one O.T. human Hero in this Site to protect it from harm. Set-aside enhancements work in this Fortress.

Haman
Type: Evil Character • Brigade: Brown • Ability: 5/6 • Class: None • Special Ability: Set aside up to three O.T. male Heroes in opponents' territories for four turns. If a female Hero does not make a successful rescue attempt during those four turns, discard those Heroes.

Darius' Decree
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Opponents may not play good Enhancements from hand, unless an Evil Character is in battle. You may discard this card to discard all Heroes in set-aside areas.


Alright, so I have a few questions

1) If my opponent sets aside my Hero (via Haman or any other ability like SWJ, the Shame LS, etc), am I allowed to move it into Kerith Ravine?

1a) If I can, would they be protected from the discard ability on Haman?

2) Does Kerith Ravine protect from Darius' Decree? (I know that Harm = an effect from an opposing alignment, but since DD is neutral does it count as opposing?
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: lightningninja on August 12, 2009, 07:34:00 PM
Not sure about Haman but they are protected against DD
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: everytribe on August 12, 2009, 07:42:05 PM
Does DD keep you from playing good enhancements in a side battle?
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: RedemptionAggie on August 12, 2009, 07:47:28 PM
It should.
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: frisian9 on August 12, 2009, 07:50:52 PM
1. If your opponent set your character aside, you cannot put them in Kerith Revine. You do not have control of the character being set aside - your opponent has control. You can only place characters in Kerith Revine when you are in control of your characters.

1a. Moot

2. Kerith Revine protects from evil and neutral cards (these are not the same alignment). Therefore, Darius' Decree cannot discard a Hero in Kerith Revine.
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: Arch Angel on August 12, 2009, 07:55:43 PM
Since I'm not in control of a card my opponent sets aside, if they set-aside my Micah, can I play another?


EDIT: Also, since they ARE in control of him, can THEY play Micah?
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: frisian9 on August 12, 2009, 08:01:08 PM
If the Micah is not in your own territory, set-aside, or land of bondage, then you can. If it is on your side of the table, then you cannot.

The flip is true for your opponent. If they took your Micah and put it in their set-aside, they cannot play a Micah.

Mike
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: Arch Angel on August 12, 2009, 08:07:01 PM
How does one determine which Set-Aside area the cards go to?
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: frisian9 on August 12, 2009, 08:21:12 PM
I knew that question was coming. The current REG doesn't address that. The updated REG will use the following statement: "When a card is set aside it is moved to the set aside area of the player that has permanent control of it.". This means that although your opponent in your case TEMPORARILY had control, you retain permanent control. Hence, your opponent put your characters in set-aside on YOUR side of the table. Hence, you have to count the number of turns set aside during your upkeep phase on your turn. Make sense?

Mike
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: Arch Angel on August 12, 2009, 08:25:42 PM
Mk :)

I kills my combo, but it's consistent so I'm happy.
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: SirNobody on August 16, 2009, 04:45:49 AM
Hey,

Mike I'm going to disagree/correct you on one thing here.  If I set aside my opponent's character, they retain control of it.  I do not gain control of the character when I set it aside (just like I don't gain control of an opponent's character when I convert or discard it).

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: Arch Angel on August 16, 2009, 08:55:39 PM
Then since I still control it, can I move it into my Kerith Ravine, then?
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: SirNobody on August 17, 2009, 01:34:46 AM
Hey,

Yes.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: Arch Angel on August 17, 2009, 10:36:38 PM
Ok, so now my question is...

Once the Hero's in KR, it's protected from "harm" correct? Does that mean I can then pull it out of Kerith Ravine and into my territory (before the allotted time on Haman is up) and proceed to use the hero again?
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: SirNobody on August 17, 2009, 11:27:10 PM
Hey,

Once the Hero's in KR, it's protected from "harm" correct? Does that mean I can then pull it out of Kerith Ravine and into my territory (before the allotted time on Haman is up) and proceed to use the hero again?

Nope.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: BubbleBoy on August 18, 2009, 08:48:22 AM
LOL If so, you could just take all three of the characters out, one two three. :P
Title: Re: Kerith Ravine vs. Haman & DD
Post by: frisian9 on August 18, 2009, 06:30:31 PM
So if I don't control the character, my opponent must count the turns on HIS upkeep phase. That means my opponent is responsible for bringing the character back from set-aside. I'll have to think about that. That isn't a situation I ever considered.

Mike
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal