Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on October 12, 2015, 09:17:49 AM
-
My opponent attacks with AUTO and draws 2, but does not exchange. I block with The Judean Mediums and band to Trembling Demon. If my opponent discards a good enhancement from hand, is Trembling Demon negated? Based on his ability's wording, I would say "No".
The Judean Mediums - "If blocking and opponent has used a draw or search ability this turn, demons and magicians cannot be negated. May band to a demon or magician."
Trembling Demon - "If no good Enhancements are played this battle, protect all Lost Souls from rescue. Opponent may discard a good Enhancement from hand to negate this."
-
The opponent can still pay the cost (discard a card from hand) if they wish, but cannot be negated is still cannot be negated so the discard won't negate Trembling Demon.
-
Yep, it's a fun interaction for Mediums. Trembling has always been a bit odd, since it allows for a negate instead of doing something "instead," which is the norm for abilities with similar "opponent may" effects (this leads to combo decks using Holy of Holies with him). Not broken since you could do something similar with HoH active, it still puts the characters (particularly Mediums) at risk of being discarded by the numbers, and your opponent has to do something that lets you trigger it. But it is definitely a fun little thing to take advantage of :)