Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on October 06, 2009, 11:42:01 AM

Title: Job Overcomes
Post by: Crashfach2002 on October 06, 2009, 11:42:01 AM
The ability makes you discard an evil card from hand or battle for every evil color you have in play.

Say I have 2 colors in play.  If I only have 1 evil card (a negate) in my hand and my 1 evil character in battle.  Do I have to discard both of my cards, or can I negate it?  If I choose to discard my character, can I play my negate since I would have intitive because of removal?
Title: Re: Job Overcomes
Post by: Soundman2 on October 06, 2009, 12:06:19 PM
I think you can play a negate.  what is Job overcomes SA?
Title: Re: Job Overcomes
Post by: Crashfach2002 on October 06, 2009, 12:13:46 PM
I think you can play a negate.  what is Job overcomes SA?
It is basically what I put, but here it is:

"For each evil brigade your opponent has in play, that opponent must discard an evil card from hand or battle. You may draw a card."
Title: Re: Job Overcomes
Post by: Arch Angel on October 06, 2009, 12:18:53 PM
You'd have to discard enough cards to fulfill Job Overcomes' SA before you could play a negate. So if it targets 2 evil cards and that discards your only negate and your only character in battle, you'd not be able to play a negate.
Title: Re: Job Overcomes
Post by: Crashfach2002 on October 06, 2009, 12:42:57 PM
Ok that is what I thought would happen.  Thanks!
Title: Re: Job Overcomes
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 06, 2009, 06:36:51 PM
yeah, same applies with like, 3rd Heaven I think?... the card that lets you look at an opponents hand and put one evil card under the deck. If you pick a negate, they cant use that negate to negate the ability thats putting it under the deck in the first place.  :D
Title: Re: Job Overcomes
Post by: thestrongangel on October 06, 2009, 06:47:21 PM
Here is the relevant quote from the REG.  Although it has to do with Dominants, I see no reason it should not apply to enhancements as well.

Quote
Dominant cards may be played at any time (see Dominants Played During the Battle Phase in the rulebook [p. 28]), but abilities that take effect instantly must resolve first.  For example, if your hand is targeted for discard (e.g. Primary Objective), Son of God may not be played until Primary Objectives special ability has resolved.  By that time, the card is already discarded and cannot be played.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal