All unaffected cards are treated under normal gameplay rules (such as discard,
return to territory, Land of Redemption, etc).
Step 3 is where characters are discarded/return to territory, enhancements are discarded and the LS is handed over (or something like Raider's Camp is triggered).
I am curious why it just doesn't come out and say that or why it says normal game play rules... isn't the reg establishing game play rules? but that's beside the point. But why are characters determined to be discarded in 1 and actually discarded in 3 but when you determine if the rescue attempt is a success for failure that actually happens in 2? The language is the same in 1 and 2. Assuming CT is triggered in 2 why does it not take effect in 2? If it has to progress through all the phases to take effect then it follows that CT is in the discard pile when the trigger tries to take effect, and then cannot because it is optional. Again why do you get to heal the character before the trigger takes effect. Don't triggers have priority over option abilities?
I'm not saying I'm 100% certain, but that's how I interpret it based on the entry for battle resolution.
So you're saying that you have to discard Christ's triumph in 2? I mean where else would you discard it, in 3 it's in the discard pile. So you are activating have of the effect of the trigger in 2 then the other half somehow has to wait on until 3 to take effect, and conveniently,you can choose to activate this effect after you heal the hero you want to make the next rescue with? That doesn't make sense to me lol